It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
500,000 issues from more than 500 historical newspapers. Includes weeklies, dailies and historical significant newspapers. Key titles include the New York Herald, New York Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Baltimore Sun, South Carolina City Gazette, Dallas Morning News, Kansas City Star, San Jose Mercury News.
The largest online collection of 19th-century U.S. newspapers from the American West. Approx. 2,500 titles published in all 24 states west of the Mississippi River, plus a number of titles published east of the Mississippi for valuable political and economic context.
Designed to provide a window into this uniquely American story. Series 15 contains 160 immigrant papers, many of which are considered the most important 19th-century publications of this genre. Complementing these and providing valuable context are traditional, general-interest newspapers published contemporaneously in those same cities or regions.
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Fully searchable.
Access to a collection of educational databases, including the British Education Index, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Educational Administration Abstracts and ERIC.
Bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, covering both economic theory and application.
Access to a wide range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, from 2003 onwards. Registration required. You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
International data service. Provides access to a range of international macro and micro data series and surveys. Registration required. You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies.
Access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Provides information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
Rare journals printed between c. 1685 and c. 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
A extensive online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period containing 70,057 letters and documents and 8,560 correspondents. Links people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
An encyclopaedia of academic Islamic studies.Articles on distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of various countries and history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope covers the old Arabo-Islamic empire, Islamic countries of Central Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Online interface to the linguistic corpora created and maintained at Brigham Young University.
Once you've logged into your Sussex account, the site may say 'not logged in'. Nevertheless, you should be able to use it without registering further. The person-shaped log-in icon at the top of the page should be yellow, not red.
Access to data and support services allowing users and researchers in UK Higher and Further Education to access the 1971, 1981, 1991 and 2001 UK censuses. Registration required. You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
Provides a comprehensive reference work that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. It has been an active research project for more than 60 years. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue