Subject Guides: C

A growing bibliographic index providing integrated access to millions of records from key 19th-century research sources. Covers books, periodicals, newspapers, official publications, archives, and reference works.

Digitised and fully searchable records of the British Cabinet from 1915-78. Contains papers, precedent books, and notebooks, including minutes, memoranda, and conclusions from meetings. Divided into three themes: ‘The United Kingdom and the World,’ ‘The Economy, Business, and Resources,’ and ‘Society and the Welfare State.’   

Provides access to academic books and journals published by Cambridge University Press. Includes over one million journal articles and more than 30,000 books across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine.

Access to over 50 'Cambridge Companion' e-books. Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by experts, which offer ccessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Subjects: Literature, Arts, Humanities, Philosophy, Law, Music, Queer Studies

Contains original scientific manuscripts, including the papers of Isaac Newton and Charles Darwin, along with the papers of the Board of Longitude from the Foundations of Science Collection and important works from many religious traditions, particularly Judaism, Islam, Christianity and Buddhism from the Foundations of Faith Collection.

Provides access to a range of textbooks published by the Cambridge University Press, spanning all disciplines, and aimed at both students and instructors. Also known as 'Higher Education from Cambridge University Press'. 

A searchable full-text collection of  the Cambridge Histories, first published in 1902.  This series contains over 400 volumes detailing US and British history. It also includes volumes focused on other subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

A faithfully, digitally reproduced collection of over 75 publications originated from North American college and university campuses and surrounding communities during the 1960s to the early 80s. The included publications became the founding members of the Underground Press Syndicate.

The largest  primary resource collection of 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery, and U.S. relations with the region. 

Access to the UK Census, a nationwide survey conducted every ten years by the Office for National Statistics. It collects demographic, social, and economic data about people and households in England and Wales.

Provides access and links to various Census-related resources and postcode lookup tables. You will need to select log in via your home institution, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.

Full text repository on Eastern Europe, its histories, languages and literatures, and its cultural, social and political realities. Access journals, ebooks and grey literature. UoS LIbrary does not subscribe to this resource, however, there is a large amount of Open Access content available. To access you will need to create an account.

Full-text archive of The Chicago Defender from 1909 to 1975, a key African American newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, and cultural commentary, offering insight into 20th-century U.S. history, civil rights, and urban African American life.

A collection of 12 historical English-language Chinese newspapers published between 1832 and 1953, providing a chronicle of China’s turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic.

Contains material digitally transferred from the BBC NI news archive between 1963-1975. Notable events or broadcasts missing from this period have either not yet been digitised, are absent from the original film collection, or may not have been recorded. To access this resource, select your institution in the "where are you from" box then login. The first time you access it, you will need to create an account by selecting "new user".

Information and statistics on the countries of the world.

This five-volume digital collection features works from more than 4,600 classic and contemporary composers. It covers all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century, and includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.

Leading source of systematic reviews in health care, covering a wide range of medical and health-related topics. Includes full Cochrane reviews, review protocols, editorials, and conference supplements, aimed at supporting evidence-based clinical and policy decision-making.

A National Archives (UK) collection of materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes covering the various territories under British governance from 1624 to 1870. Includes administrative documentation, details of plantation life, colonial settlement and imperial rivalries across the region.

A database of primary source documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries, integrating two archives: ‘Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers’ and ‘The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.’ The collections relate to the British governance of early settlements, encounters with Native Americans, piracy, the slave trade, and conflicts with the Spanish and French. 

Documents from the Communist Party of Great Britain’s International Department, covering global communist movements and ideological divisions from 1944 to 1986. Focuses on the Sino-Soviet split, Eastern Europe, anti-colonial struggles, and Western leftist responses during the Cold War.

Communism was one of the defining political and economic ideologies of the 20th century. This series charts its rise and fall through the eyes of the Communist Party of Great Britain (CPGB), allowing scholars to study how communist leaders and activists tried to influence, and were in turn influenced by, events and opinion both at home and abroad.

Collections include: Internal politics; campaigns and events; culture and society, crisis Britain and abroad, gender and feminism, Marxist history, trade unions and more.

British Foreign Office records documenting political unrest and conflict in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos. Includes correspondence, reports, maps, and photographs covering internal politics, foreign intervention, and Britain’s diplomatic role during the early years of the Indochina conflict.

Brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.

Dating from Jan 2020 to Dec 2022, this archive is designed to be a record of the social, cultural, and economic impact of COVID-19, allowing you to see the daily frequency of words and phrases compared between 20 countries.    

An archive of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.

A digital collection exploring the global impact of COVID-19 alongside historical responses to past pandemics. Includes government reports, personal accounts, medical literature, and media coverage, offering insight into public health, policy, and social change during times of crisis.

The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics.