A vast archive of material drawn from hundreds of international and local organizations, documenting important aspects of LGBTQ life from 1940 onwards. Documents include: records and materials produced by LGBTQ rights groups, government briefings, reports and policy statements, surveys and election questionnaires, international news and magazine articles, photographs, interviews and more.
A database of primary source documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries, integrating two archives: ‘Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers’ and ‘The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.’ The collections relate to the British governance of early settlements, encounters with Native Americans, piracy, the slave trade, and conflicts with the Spanish and French.
Documents from the Communist Party of Great Britain’s International Department, covering global communist movements and ideological divisions from 1944 to 1986. Focuses on the Sino-Soviet split, Eastern Europe, anti-colonial struggles, and Western leftist responses during the Cold War.
Confidential british government documents issued by the Foreign and Colonial Office, covering political, economic, and social developments across Egypt, the Levant, Arabian Peninsula, Iran, Turkey, and Sudan. Includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses, and profiles of key figures. Topics range from the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha and the 1921 Middle East Conference to the Palestine Mandates, the 1956 Suez Crisis, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
An online collection of more than 100,000 declassified records documenting historic U.S. foreign and military policy decisions since 1945.
An extensive online collection of edited correspondence from the early modern period, containing over 80,000 letters and documents and 10,000+ correspondents. Interconnected documents link people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Provides researchers with rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks, menus, pamphlets, posters, vintage commericals, interviews and documentaries, as well as secondary sources.
An archive of the British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan from 1940 to 1948, providing insight into the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and post-war international world politics.
A digital archive of alternative press publications produced in the United States during the 20th century. Provides full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and journals created by feminist, LGBTQ+, African American, Native American, Lationo, GI, Campus Underground, Right-Wing and other activist and independent communities.
A primary source collection tracing migration from Britain, Ireland, Europe, and Asia to North America and Australasia between the 17th and 20th centuries. Includes personal letters, diaries, oral histories, shipping records, legal documents, maps, photographs, and ephemera. Topics covered include emigration motives, journey conditions, colonisation schemes, indentured labour, refugee experiences, and settlement.
A database of primary sources and scholarly analysis on revolutions, protests, and social movements from the 18th to the 21st century. Includes personal papers, government and organisational records, journals, books, speeches, reports, and documentary footage, covering a wide range of global events and themes.
A curated collection of primary and secondary sources exploring major global security events from the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes personal accounts, government documents, press releases, photographs, news footage, documentaries, scholarly essays, maps, and chronologies. Topics include Cold War crises, intelligence operations, cyber security, and international conflict.
A streaming video archive of over 55,000 firsthand testimonies from survivors of the Holocaust and other atrocities from the 1910s to the present. Includes accounts of the Armenian, Rwandan, and Cambodian genocides, the Bosnian War, the Rohingya crisis, and more, with supporting interviews, photographs, and documents.
Spanning 1490–2007, this resource brigns together both primary and secondary materials on slavery, abolition, and social justice from UK and North American archives. Includes manuscripts, maps, essays, and visual sources covering the Atlantic slave trade, resistance movements, abolition campaigns, and the legacies of slavery across the Americas, Europe, Africa, and the Islamic world.
The largest online primary source collection for South Asian studies, containing materials from 1700 to 1953. Includes rare books, journals, reports, and archival documents from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Burma, and Afghanistan, with texts in English and regional languages like Bengali and Sanskrit.
An online database providing access to treaties and international agreements registered or filed with the United Nations since 1946. Includes full texts, status information, and related documents. Covers a wide range of subjects including human rights, environmental law, disarmament, trade, and international criminal law.
A collection of primary documents, scholarly essays, and proceedings that trace the history of women’s international activism from the mid-19th century onward. Focuses on transnational movements, global conferences, and the work of international women’s organisations. Topics include peace, suffrage, labour, education, and human rights.
A collection of primary sources, scholarly writings, and commentary examining women's roles in imperial, colonial, and postcolonial contexts from the early 19th century onward. Covers multiple regions including Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, and the Middle East. Topics include education, labour, religion, resistance, and reform, with materials drawn from both colonizing and colonized perspectives.
