Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Official publications: Home

The Collection

The Library holds collections of Official Publications and other material relevant to public policy from British, European and international bodies recognising that they are essential primary source material. Official publications of foreign countries are not collected.

The Official Publications at the University of Sussex are located within the Documents Collection in the North Basement of the Library, although European publications are stored and will need to be requested from the Information Hub on the ground floor. 

The material is arranged on the open shelves in pamphlet boxes and readers are welcome to browse. Items may normally be borrowed for six weeks. Some material is restricted for use in the Library only, but If you want to borrow loanable items please use a self service machine on the ground floor.

There are three Documents collections:

  • British - this includes both governmental and non-governmental publications, pressure group material and Parliamentary Papers
  • European
  • International - contains publications from organisations covering more than Europe such as the International Monetary Fund, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and the World Bank

Many Official Publications are freely available electronically. Useful links are available under the UK Government information and International organisations tabs above.

For further assistance with using the collection please ask at the Information Hub on the ground floor or contact Collection Development 01273 872930/x2930.

Other Links

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful Library resources for your study and research:

 

The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor.