History

Access to a large number of videos across a wide range of subject areas. The University does not subscribe to all the content within the collection.

A searchable full-text collection of over 1,500 authorised and copyrighted screenplays from the 1900s onwards, along with biographical information on directors and writers. Volume I contains scripts of the greatest American classics, whilst Volume II consists of more contemporary and international films. 
Advanced indexing allows you to filter by director, writer, performer, genre and time period. 

A streaming service for UK higher education, containing a searchable archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts dating back to the 1990s. New broadcasts added daily. Record from 75+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more. Not available to users outside the UK.
You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list. (New users will need to register their Sussex email address.)

One of the most comprehensive collections of prints and drawings in world culture and history.

Contains material digitally transferred from the BBC NI news archive between 1963-1975. Notable events or broadcasts missing from this period have either not yet been digitised, are absent from the original film collection, or may not have been recorded. To access this resource, select your institution in the "where are you from" box then login. The first time you access it, you will need to create an account by selecting "new user".

The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Collection holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape.

A collection of 50,000 rare books (printed before c. 1825), manuscripts, and 16,000 reference books and secondary sources (printed after c. 1825) of which 90% is accessible online. Extensive holdings in the literature of European exploration and travel in the Western Hemisphere, from the first Latin edition of the Columbus letter of 1493, through nearly all of the contemporary narratives of Spanish, Portuguese, French, Dutch, and English discovery, exploration, and settlement. These primary materials are supported by a large bibliographical reference collection.

You can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.

Contains a new, sustainable model for the creative reuse of archive material for non-commercial use by filmmakers.

Contains an archive of Irish educational films

A streaming video archive of over 55,000 firsthand testimonies from survivors of the Holocaust and other atrocities from the 1910s to the present. Includes accounts of the Armenian, Rwandan, and Cambodian genocides, the Bosnian War, the Rohingya crisis, and more, with supporting interviews, photographs, and documents.

Contains one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.