Search more than 270 African American newspapers from over 35 states, published during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes rarer titles from the black presses of smaller US cities and issues of the earliest black newspapers.
An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, providing full text access to articles. 1,700 journals from 1964 to present with citations and links to book and media reviews.
American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Combines collections from American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).
An online collection of more than 100,000 declassified records documenting historic U.S. foreign and military policy decisions since 1945.
Designed to provide a window into this uniquely American story. Series 15 contains 160 immigrant papers, many of which are considered the most important 19th-century publications of this genre. Complementing these and providing valuable context are traditional, general-interest newspapers published contemporaneously in those same cities or regions.
500,000 issues from more than 500 historical newspapers. Includes weeklies, dailies and historical significant newspapers. Key titles include the New York Herald, New York Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Baltimore Sun, South Carolina City Gazette, Dallas Morning News, Kansas City Star, San Jose Mercury News.
A collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 - c. 1820.
Search across a wide range of archival collections focused on 19th and 20th century US history, containing digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials. Includes sub-collections on the Black Freedom Movement, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society, and labour unions, workers, and progressive and radical politics.
A primary source collection documenting the African American civil rights movement in the 20th century. Includes NAACP papers, federal government records, organizational archives, and personal papers.
Brings together multiple databases:
A collection of 50,000 rare books (printed before c. 1825), manuscripts, and 16,000 reference books and secondary sources (printed after c. 1825) of which 90% is accessible online. Extensive holdings in the literature of European exploration and travel in the Western Hemisphere, from the first Latin edition of the Columbus letter of 1493, through nearly all of the contemporary narratives of Spanish, Portuguese, French, Dutch, and English discovery, exploration, and settlement. These primary materials are supported by a large bibliographical reference collection.
Archive of The Nation magazine from 1865 to the present, offering primary source material on U.S. and global politics, culture, and society. Includes articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles.
A digital archive documenting social, political, and cultural change from post-war austerity to the 1970s. Includes pamphlets, letters, photographs, underground press, ephemera, and video footage. Covers topics such as youth culture, protest movements, music, fashion, and media in Britain and the US.
Digitised records from the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, covering the 1940s to 1970s. Documents three pivotal decades in the civil rights movement through surveys, correspondence, photographs, speeches, and audio recordings. Includes work by key figures such as Charles S. Johnson, Thurgood Marshall, and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr..
Provides full-text access to major newspaers from across the US, including The Times-Picayune (New Orleans), The Plain Dealer (Cleveland), and The Oregonian (Portland) from 1923 to 1991. Drawn from U.S. historical collections, the archive includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, and other content reflecting regional perspectives on 20th-century American life.
Collections of data about the American population and economy. Data directly collected through censuses and surveys. Primary sources for additional data are federal, state, and local governments, and some commercial entities.
A complete, searchable archive of Vogue (US edition) from its first issue in 1892 to the present. Includes high-resolution scans of every page, covering fashion, culture, photography, and design. Useful for research in fashion history, visual culture, gender studies, and media. Content is fully indexed and includes advertisements, covers, and editorial content.
Digital archive of the American newspaper, The Washington Post, that includes news articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, and more. Subjects include: American politics, American history
A collection of primary documents, scholarly essays, and reviews exploring the history of women’s activism in the United States from the colonial era to the present. Covers topics such as abolition, suffrage, labour, civil rights, and feminism. Includes writings by and about women, as well as records of grassroots and national organisations.
