Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

Introduction to EndNote x8 and EndNote Online

EndNote Desktop X9

 

Click on the individual tabs above to learn more about using EndNote with Microsoft Word. 

Cite While You Write (CWYW)


CWYW is the tool that connects your EndNote library to your Microsoft Word document, allowing you to insert citations and create bibliographies. 

When you install the EndNote X8 programme to your device, the CWYW plug-in will automatically install and an EndNote X9 tab will appear in your Microsoft Word menu ribbon. 

Selecting your Output Style in Word


Your output style is the style of referencing you would like your references to be formatted in. 

To select your referencing style in Word, click on the "Style" dropdown menu and select your preferred style. If your style isn't listed, click "Select Another Style" and choose from the extensive range. 


Downloading additional styles in EndNote X8

If your style is not visible or available in "Select Another Style", you may have to import the style from EndNote.

Visit the EndNote website at: https://endnote.com/downloads/styles/ to search for a particular style. Follow the download and install instructions on the website. 

Adding in-text citations to a Word document


Important to note: 

It is essential that you only have one EndNote library and one Word document open when working with references.

Having multiple libraries and multiple documents open at the same time can cause errors to occur. 

To avoid your Word application crashing unexpectedly, it is best to work on your document with "instant formatting" mode disabled. This means that any inserted citations will not be formatted automatically in your reference style, but can be easily done so at the click of a button. In the EndNote tab ensure "Instant Formatting" is displaying as "off".  


To insert a citation into a Word document:

1. Open your EndNote X9 library and the document you are working in. 

2. In the EndNote tab in Word click "Insert Citation"

3. To search for a reference in your EndNote library, click "Insert Citation" in the dropdown menu. 

4. Search for your desired reference and select to insert. 

5. If you are working with instant formatting disabled, you will need to click "update citations and bibliography" for your citation to format in your selected referencing style. 

6. Alternatively, you can pre-select the reference or references you would like to insert by selecting them in your EndNote library. To insert, choose the "Insert Selected Citation" from the "Insert Citation(s)" dropdown menu, as seen in the image below. 

 

Editing In-Text Citations


Sometimes you will need to edit the formatting of a selected reference, for example to adhere to any specific stylistic requirements of your School's preferred referencing style. 

To edit a citation, click the "Edit & Manage citations" button in the EndNote X9 menu in Microsoft Word. 

In the pop-up window choose from the two tabs to edit the citation in your document, or edit the reference's metadata in your library. When you have finished editing click "Ok". 


 

Generating Bibliographies in Word


Important to note: 

It is essential that you only have one EndNote library and one Word document open when working with references.

Having multiple libraries and multiple documents open at the same time can cause errors to occur. 

To avoid your Word application crashing unexpectedly, it is best to work on your document with "Instant Formatting" mode disabled. This means that any inserted citations will not be formatted automatically in your reference style, but can be easily done so at the click of a button. In the EndNote tab ensure "Instant Formatting" is displaying as "off".


In the EndNote tab in Word, ensure your chosen referencing style is selected, e.g. Harvard. 

If Instant formatting is off, your in-text citations will be unformatted. To format, and consequently generate your bibliography, click "Update Citations and Bibliography". 

A pop-up window will appear stating "Generating Bibliography". Word will now format your references in your chosen style, and generate a bibliography on the last page of your document. 


Exporting Bibliographies from EndNote X9


You can easily and quickly export a formatted list of your references directly from your EndNote X9 library, without the need to add them to a Word document first.  

Open your library, and select the references you wish to export. 

Under "File" select "Export". 

In the pop-up window, give your bibliography a file name, and save in your desired file format. Use Rich Text Format to open your bibliography in Microsoft Word. 

Under "Output Style" select your chosen referencing style. 

Save your file. 

EndNote Online (Basic)

Click on the individual tabs above to learn more about using EndNote Online (Basic) with Microsoft Word. 

Installing Cite While You Write plug-in

In order to add in-text citations and generate bibliographies from your EndNote Library in Microsoft Word, you will need to download a plug-in called "Cite While You Write". 

Sign-in to your EndNote Online account. 

In the Downloads tab under the Cite While You Write section, select the appropriate file download for your operating system e.g. Microsoft, Mac, etc.

Follow the Installation Instructions.  

Selecting your Output Style in Word


Your output style is the style of referencing you would like your references to be formatted in. 

To select your referencing style in Word, click on the "style" dropdown menu and select your preferred style.

If your style isn't listed, click "Select Another Style" and choose from the full range. 


Limited Output Styles in EndNote Online

EndNote Online has limited referencing styles. If your referencing style is not available you may need to consider using another referencing management tool.

Adding Citations to Word


Important to note: 

To avoid your Word application crashing unexpectedly, it is best to work on your document with "Instant Formatting" mode disabled. This means that any inserted citations will not be formatted automatically in your reference style, but can be easily done so at the click of a button. In the EndNote tab under "Preferences" ensure that the "Enable Instant Formatting for Microsoft Word" is not ticked.


To insert a citation into a Word document:

1. Sign-in to EndNote Online and the open document you are working on in Word. 

2. In the EndNote tab in Word click "Insert Citation".

3. To search for a reference in your EndNote library, click "Insert Citation" in the dropdown menu. 

4. Search for your desired reference and select to insert. 

5. If you are working with instant formatting disabled, you will need to click "Update Citations and Bibliography" for your citation to format in your selected referencing style. 

Editing In-Text Citations 


Sometimes you will need to edit the formatting of a selected reference, for example to adhere to any specific stylistic requirements of your School's preferred referencing style. 

To edit a citation, click the "Edit & Manage Citations" button in the EndNote X8 menu in Microsoft Word. 

In the pop-up window choose from the two tabs to edit the citation in your document, or edit the reference's metadata in your library. When you have finished editing click "OK". 


Exporting Bibliographies from EndNote Online


You can easily and quickly export a formatted list of your references directly from EndNote Online, without the need to add them to a Word document first.  

Sign-in to EndNote Online, and under the "Format" tab select "Bibliography". 

In the "References" tab select the group of references you want to make up your bibliography.

Under "Bibliographic Style" select your chosen referencing style. 

In "File Format" select the type of file you want your bibliography to be exported in. Use Rich Text Format to open your bibliography in Microsoft Word. 

Save, email or print your list using the menu options. 


Generating Bibliographies in Word


Important to note: 

To avoid your Word application crashing unexpectedly, it is best to work on your document with "Instant Formatting" mode disabled. This means that any inserted citations will not be formatted automatically in your reference style, but can be easily done so at the click of a button. In the EndNote tab ensure "Instant Formatting" is displaying as "off".


In the EndNote tab in Word, ensure your chosen referencing style is selected, e.g. Harvard. 

If instant formatting is off, your in-text citations will be unformatted. To format, and consequently generate your bibliography, click "Update Citations and Bibliography". 

A pop-up window will appear stating "Generating Bibliography". Word will now format your references in your chosen style, and generate a bibliography on the last page of your document.