Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

Introduction to EndNote x8 and EndNote Online

Endnote Desktop X9

Click on the individual tabs above to learn more about adding references to EndNote. 

Importing References


Downloading your RIS file to begin

To add references to EndNote Desktop, you will need to download a "RIS" file containing the referencing metadata, which you will import into your EndNote library. 

In the database or platform you have searched, select the particular item (or items) you want to export and click the "export" button. The location and name of the "export" button varies between databases; it can sometimes be labeled as "download citation" for example.

Once you have downloaded your RIS file, open EndNote and follow the steps below.


1. To import your file, click "File", "Import" and "File" if you have one RIS file to import, or "Folder" if you have a folder of RIS files to import. 

 


2. You will be prompted in a new pop-up window to choose your RIS file from its saved location.

Click "choose" to locate. Next, select the corresponding import filter for your file type from the "import option" dropdown menu, e.g. "RIS".

The import filter enables EndNote to "read" your file correctly, and ensure your references import without errors or missing data. 

Click "import" to add the references to your library.

 


 

Importing directly - Firefox

  • You will be able to automate your importing, by first selecting to download the file of the reference. Next, in the pop-up window select EndNote X9 as the software to open your file. Select the "Do this automatically files like this from now on" to automate the import of the file into your file upon download. In order for this to work, you will need to have EndNote minimised


Importing directly - Google Chrome

  • You will be able to automate your importing, by first selecting to download the file of the reference. Next, in the downloaded file click on the dropdown menu. Select the "always open files of this type" to automate the import of the file into your file upon download into your Endnote Library. In order for this to work, you will need to have EndNote minimised. 

 

Adding References Manually 


In your library, click on the "New Reference" button in the menu - the icon that resembles a piece of writing paper. 

Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + N, or click "References" and "New Reference".

A new blank reference window will open. Select the reference type that best matches your information source, e.g. journal article. Fill in the relevant information fields. You can leave non-relevant information fields blank. 

There is no save button in EndNote X8. To save, you will need to close the window; you will then be prompted with a pop-up box reading: "Do you want to save the changes you made to the reference?" Click "yes" to save and return to your library. 


 


Adding References from Library Search


1. Click the quotation icon to view citation info


2. Scroll down to “Send to” section to view citation


3. Choose “RIS” to export to EndNote Desktop.

If you have your EndNote library open while searching Library Search the RIS file will automatically import into EndNote.

You will not need to import the RIS file manually.

Adding References using Online Search Mode


1. Click on the globe button in the top left hand corner of your library. 

2. A temporary group "Online Search" will appear in the groups panel, with a list of popular databases. Select the database from the list you would like to search, or click "more" to view the full list of databases available. 

3. Using the Search Panel, search terms to find references that match your criteria. 

4. A pop-up window will appear when your search is complete. It will detail how many search results were found. You can choose to temporarily retrieve all or a select number of results. 

5. Your selected results will appear in the reference list panel, and the temporary group "Online References" will display how many results have been temporarily imported. This temporary group will close once your library is closed, or when you perform another search. To add the references to your library, select them and right-click and select "Add References To" to add the references to a group or your library. 

 



 

 

EndNote Online (Basic)

Click on the individual tabs above to learn more about adding references to EndNote Online (Basic). 

Importing References 


Downloading your RIS file to begin

To add references to EndNote Online, you will need to download a "RIS" file containing the referencing metadata, which you will import into your EndNote library. 

In the database or platform you have searched, select the particular item (or items) you want to export and click the "export" button. The location and name of the "export" button varies between databases; it can sometimes be labelled as "download citation" for example.

Once you have downloaded your RIS file, sign-in to EndNote Online (Basic) and follow the steps below.


1. Click the "collect" tab and select "Import References".


2. Click "choose file" and locate the RIS file you saved earlier.


3. In the dropdown menu locate the name of the database you searched.


4. In the "To" dropdown menu select the "Group" (folder) that you want to import your references to, and click "Import".


Adding References Manually


1. Sign-in to EndNote Online. 

2. Click the "Collect" tab and select "New Reference". 

3. Fill-in the blank reference information fields. 

4. Click "Save". 

Importing References from Library Search


1. Click the quotation icon to view citation info


2. Scroll down to “Send to” section to view citation


3. Choose “EndNote Web” for EndNote Online (Basic)

Adding References from within EndNote


1. Sign-in to EndNote Online

2. Under the "Collect" tab, click "Online Search"

3. In the dropdown menu select the database that you want to search. For Library Search, select "U Sussex". Click Connect.

4. Using the search box, search for the material you would like. 

5. Select the results you want to add to your library and import.