LibGuides: Online resources for visitors: E

Online Resources

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans. Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
Early American Newspapers 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
Early American Newspapers 1801-1900 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 500,000 issues from more than 500 historical newspapers. Includes weeklies, dailies and historical significant newspapers. Key titles include the New York Herald, New York Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Baltimore Sun, South Carolina City Gazette, Dallas Morning News, Kansas City Start, San Jose Mercury News and others.
Early American Newspapers 1803-1916: The American West This link opens in a new window
The largest online collection of 19th-century U.S. newspapers from the American West. Approx. 2,500 titles published in all 24 states west of the Mississippi River, plus a number of titles published east of the Mississippi for valuable political and economic context.
Early European Books Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to ebooks purchased by the University of Sussex Library.
Ebsco Education Databases This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection which brings together multiple education-focused research databases. Contains a variety of scholarly content including e-books, journal articles, reports, government documents, magazine articles, conference proceedings and theses. Comprised of the British Education Index, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Educational Administration Abstracts and ERIC.
Subjects: Education, Social Work, Child Development
EconLit This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of economics-related research and literature dating back to 1886. EconLit is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature’s index of journal articles, books, and dissertations, covering both economic theory and application. Update monthly.
Subjects: Economics, Business, Law, Finance, Administration, Economic History
Economist Digital Archive 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
Access to the Economist from the first issue in 1843 to 2013.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Edward Elgar books This link opens in a new window
Access to collections of ebooks on Law and Social and Political Science
Eighteenth Century Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Rare journals printed between c. 1685 and c. 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
A extensive online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period containing 70,057 letters and documents and 8,560 correspondents. Links people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Emerald Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Emerald Journals and to collections of Emerald ebooks in the Social Sciences and Business, Management and Economics

Emerald Management Journals
Access to over 35,000 full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the key periodicals for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK popular and trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, theatre and video games are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. We have access to the following collections:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
EIMA4: Rock, Folk and Hip-hop
EIMA5: Video Gaming
Ethnographic Video Online vol.1 This link opens in a new window
Provides a large and comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behaviour. Covers every region of the world and features hundreds of videos.
EUobserver This link opens in a new window
Access to an independent online newspaper, aiming to support European democracy by giving people the information they need to hold the EU establishment to account.

Visitor access to Online Resources

Registered external members can use many of the library's online resources as part of a scheme to improve access. This service can only be used from within the library.

Browse for a particular resource using the lettered tabs above.

Search for ebooks

See the ebook collections available for visitors to use.