Online resources for visitors: B

A full-text  database of research articles from over 300 open access journals published by Biomed Central (BMC) since 1990.  Subjects include science, technology, engineering and medicine.

A research database focused on UK education and training research, policy, and practice. It indexes more than 370,000 articles from scholarly journals and education-focused periodicals and over 11,000 theses, covering education from pre-school to university. Users can filter by educational level and age group. Coverage dates from 1929 to the present.

Subjects: Education

An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

A comprehensive resource of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid 18th and 20th centuries. Supports research in History, Literature, Victorian Studies, Genealogy, Fine Arts, Finance/Economics, Political Science, and more. Access to parts 1-4, covering titles from 1732 to 1950.

Access over 10 million items available either in the Reading Rooms or for supply as photocopies or loans.

One of the most comprehensive collections of prints and drawings in world culture and history.

Digitised archive of over 240 British newspaper titles published between 1732 and 1950. Covers national, regional, and local publications from across the UK, including reformist journals, early illustrated papers, and specialist titles.

Access to 79 digitised primary source collections spanning over 500 years of global history, drawn from UK institutions such as The National Archives and the British Library. Covers a vast range of subjects including history, politics, sociology, and international relations.

Digitised archive of nearly 500 British periodicals from the 17th century to the early 21st century. Covers literature, history, politics, art, science, and social commentary, with full-text searchable facsimile images. 

Approx. 700 volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets from the seventeenth and eighteenth century, collected by the Reverend Charles Burney. Mostly published in London, but includes English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers and a few from the American colonies, Europe and India.

A business database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry reports. With 4000 active indexed and abstracted journals and full text access for more than 1000 journal titles, it covers a wide range of subjects including business, management, economics, finance, accounting, and marketing. Users can explore case studies, company profiles, and market research reports.

Now known as English-Corpora