LibGuides: Online resources for visitors: C

Online Resources

C19: 19th Century Index This link opens in a new window
Provides a growing bibliographic collection for 19th-century research, covering multiple content types, providing records for millions of documents ranging from books and newspapers to government documents and periodicals at the article level.
Cabinet Papers 1915-1978 This link opens in a new window
Digitised and fully searchable records of the British Cabinet from 1915-78. Contains papers, precedent books, and notebooks, including minutes, memoranda, and conclusions from meetings. Divided into three themes: ‘The United Kingdom and the World,’ ‘The Economy, Business, and Resources,’ and ‘Society and the Welfare State.’
Cambridge Books Online This link opens in a new window
Access to several collections from Cambridge University Press. Subjects included are Twentieth Century British History; Colonial American History; Early Republic and Antebellum History; American History1861-1900; History of Native American Peoples; American Theatre; British Theatre; European Theatre.
Cambridge Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains original scientific manuscripts, including the papers of Isaac Newton and Charles Darwin, along with the papers of the Board of Longitude from the Foundations of Science Collection and important works from many religious traditions, particularly Judaism, Islam, Christianity and Buddhism from the Foundations of Faith Collection.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of volumes covering histories of the US and Britain, as well as more general areas covering economics, politics, religion, music, literary studies and language.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals
Campus Underground This link opens in a new window
A faithfully, digitally reproduced collection of over 75 publications originated from North American college and university campuses and surrounding communities during the 1960s to the early 80s. The included publications became the founding members of the Underground Press Syndicate.
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
The largest primary resource collection of 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery, and U.S. relations with the region.
Chicago Defender Archive 1910-1975 This link opens in a new window
A key newspaper of the African-American press. Easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Chinese Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 12 historical English-language Chinese newspapers published between 1832 and 1953, providing a chronicle of China’s turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic.
Chronicle: BBC Northern Ireland's television news from the 60s and 70s This link opens in a new window
Contains material digitally transferred from the BBC NI news archive between 1963-1975. Notable events or broadcasts missing from this period have either not yet been digitised, are absent from the original film collection, or may not have been recorded. To access this resource, select your institution in the "where are you from" box then login. The first time you access it, you will need to create an account by selecting "new user".
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Information and statistics on the countries of the world.
Cochrane Library - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. We have access to a limited amount of freely available content.
Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
A National Archives (UK) collection of materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes covering the various territories under British governance from 1624 to 1870. Includes administrative documentation, details of plantation life, colonial settlement and imperial rivalries across the region.
Colonial Law in Africa 1808-1919 This link opens in a new window
During the nineteenth and twentieth Centuries, the British published official ‘Government Gazettes’ that outlined the colonial laws of an African country for the year. This collection, drawn from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office records, includes an accumulation of the published gazettes in 10 different African countries
Communisms and the Cold War, 1944-1986 This link opens in a new window
Communisms and the Cold War, 1944-1986 covers 1000 years of world history: from politics & warfare, to slavery & revolution
British Communism at Home and Abroad, 1883-1991 This link opens in a new window
Communism was one of the defining political and economic ideologies of the 20th century. This series charts its rise and fall through the eyes of the Communist Party of Great Britain (CPGB), allowing scholars to study how communist leaders and activists tried to influence, and were in turn influenced by, events and opinion both at home and abroad.

Collections include: Internal politics; campaigns and events; culture and society, crisis Britain and abroad, gender and feminism, Marxist history, trade unions and more.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
Confidential print documents issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Office since c. 1820. The collection covers the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 19th century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos: Module 1: Crisis and Upheaval 1959-1964 This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict
Connected Histories This link opens in a new window
Brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
Creation of Israel This link opens in a new window
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics.

Visitor access to Online Resources

Registered external members can use many of the library's online resources as part of a scheme to improve access. This service can only be used from within the library.

Browse for a particular resource using the lettered tabs above.