LibGuides: Online resources for visitors: D

Online Resources

Daily Express and Sunday Express This link opens in a new window
The Daily Express archive is a fully searchable database of the newspaper, providing access to Daily Express newspapers dating back to 1900. The Sunday Express is also available from World War II and from 2000-to-now
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
An archive of the UK newspaper, The Daily Mail. Includes news stories, advertisements and images spanning over 100 years.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
A record of American regional vocabulary and pronunciations, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco.
Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical records of people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Contains over 65,000 concise, up-to-date entries written by specialist authors.
Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection This link opens in a new window
Maps and map data of Great Britain from the Ordnance Survey Data Collection. Registration required. You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Offers streamed films of leading British theatre productions for educational use in schools, colleges and universities. Each production is supported by additional content, including interviews with the creative and production teams and written study guides.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Discovering Literature This link opens in a new window
Exploring the Romantic and Victorian periods. Access to the British Library's literary and historical collections including numerous original manuscripts, first editions and rare illustrations.
DOE Information Bridge This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Department of Energy's collection of scientific and technical documents dating primarily from 1991 to the present day. Legacy documents are regularly added in electronic format. Technical reports from the 1940s to 1991 are mainly available in hard copy by request.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 1,200 plays from new writers to the most iconic names in play writing history and contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Duke University Press Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Over thirty periodicals that span a range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences—from East Asian cultural studies to French history, from lesbian and gay studies to mathematics and the history of economic thought, from feminism, culture and media studies to medieval and early modern studies.

Visitor access to Online Resources

Registered external members can use many of the library's online resources as part of a scheme to improve access. This service can only be used from within the library.

Browse for a particular resource using the lettered tabs above.