LibGuides: Image, Film and Sound: Film

Online Resources

Alexander Street Press Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to a large number of videos across a wide range of subject areas. The University does not subscribe to all the content within the collection.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
A streaming service for UK higher education, containing a searchable archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts dating back to the 1990s. New broadcasts added daily. Record from 75+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more.
You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list. (New users will need to register their Sussex email address.)
Chronicle: BBC Northern Ireland's television news from the 60s and 70s This link opens in a new window
Contains material digitally transferred from the BBC NI news archive between 1963-1975. Notable events or broadcasts missing from this period have either not yet been digitised, are absent from the original film collection, or may not have been recorded. To access this resource, select your institution in the "where are you from" box then login. The first time you access it, you will need to create an account by selecting "new user".
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Offers streamed films of leading British theatre productions for educational use in schools, colleges and universities. Each production is supported by additional content, including interviews with the creative and production teams and written study guides.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 4,900 contemporary and historical plays, along with filmed live performances, audio recordings, scholarly books, practical guides and a collection of major reference works, providing context and critical background.
Ethnographic Video Online vol.1 This link opens in a new window
This video collection contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing a large and comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behaviour.
Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new window
You can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new window
Explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. Contains colour digital images of archival material sourced from key libraries and organisations in Britain and America. Includes material from the Mass Observation Archive. Search archive at the Mass Observation online
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
These high-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors, like David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey.
Screen Search This link opens in a new window
A catalogue of selected films from the Screen Archive South East collection.
TRILT This link opens in a new window
Listings for more than 560 TV and radio channels from 1995 onward with data available at least 10 days before transmission. Requires login for access.

Image, Film and Sound

Online Resources

Links to external sites with moving images resources