Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audio, Film and Image Guide

pair of headband-style headphones

Online Resources

Gramophone

A magazine devoted to classical music, particularly recordings.

Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991

Features the complete 62-year run of the Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991.

Literature Online (LION)

Large cross-searchable database of literature and criticism. Contains videos and audio of poets reading their own work and unabridged audio of every Shakespeare play.

MediaPlus

A service delivered to the UK higher and further education community in association with Jisc, providing more than 100,000 videos, images, and sound recordings

Oxford History of Western Music

Oxford History of Western Music is considered a landmark study on western music by prominent musicologist Richard Taruskin. It also links directly to relevant entries in Oxford Music Online. Starts with the invention of musical notation more than a thousand years ago, and moves across hundreds of years of musical invention and its interaction with culture, politics and art.

Oxford Music Online (Includes Grove Music Online)

Enables users to access and search Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Rock's Backpages

Contains an archive of music journalism including video interviews with artists, reviews of concerts and albums and covering all genres of popular music from the 1950s to the present day, from Abba to Zappa. It includes articles from publications like Rolling Stone, MOJO, NME and Melody Maker, as well as major newspapers.

External sites with links to audio resources