Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audio, Film and Image Guide

photos pegged on washing line

Online Resources

ARTstor

Provides access to a searchable database of digital images and associated catalogue data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Daily Mirror Archive

Access to the entire archive of the Daily Mirror, from 1903 to the present day.

Google Art Project

This project allows users to 'walk' around galleries using the Google Maps 'street view' technology and to see reproductions of artworks.

MediaPlus

A service delivered to the UK higher and further education community in association with Jisc, providing more than 100,000 videos, images, and sound recordings

Oxford Art Online (Includes Grove Art Online)

Allows users to access and search Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Picture Post Historical Archive

The Picture Post Historical Archive is the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour.

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera, videos and memorabilia from this exciting period in recent history.

Wellcome Images

Digital images from the Wellcome Library collections with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

Freely available images

www.​pexels.com -  search for plenty of free stock images and videos.