The ICRC’s International Humanitarian Law Databases are a searchable set of three databases containing IHL-related resources. Users can search the three databases collectively or individually to find and access documents related to IHL norms in both treaty and customary law, as well as their application, implementation, and interpretation.
JURIS is a repository of the jurisprudence of the United Nations Treaty Bodies (Committees). Provides access to decisions on individual complaints on human rights violations by eight treaty bodies and aims at assisting the public, States, national human rights institutions, civil society, academia, as well as the United Nations and international regional mechanisms to research the vast body of legal interpretation of international human rights law as it has evolved over the past years.
An online database providing access to treaties and international agreements registered or filed with the United Nations since 1946. Includes full texts, status information, and related documents. Covers a wide range of subjects including human rights, environmental law, disarmament, trade, and international criminal law.
Search more than 270 African American newspapers from over 35 states, published during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes rarer titles from the black presses of smaller US cities and issues of the earliest black newspapers.
Over 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
A collection of 12 historical English-language Chinese newspapers published between 1832 and 1953, providing a chronicle of China’s turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic.
Confidential british government documents issued by the Foreign and Colonial Office, covering political, economic, and social developments across Egypt, the Levant, Arabian Peninsula, Iran, Turkey, and Sudan. Includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses, and profiles of key figures. Topics range from the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha and the 1921 Middle East Conference to the Palestine Mandates, the 1956 Suez Crisis, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Digital archive of The Jerusalem Post, an English-language daily founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post. Covers news from 1932 to 2008, including the Arab–Jewish conflict, the Holocaust, the founding of Israel, and regional wars. Offers insight into Israeli history and Middle Eastern affairs.
Digitised archive of 15 major magazines from 1918–2015, including Newsweek, covering politics, public policy, international relations, and current events. Offers full-colour, cover-to-cover scans of these US and European publications.
A comprehensive news database offering full-text access to UK national and regional newspapers, international news sources, trade journals, magazines, and company reports. Coverage includes titles like The Times, The Guardian, The Independent, and The Observer, with daily updates and global scope.
Full-text archive of The Times of India, the world’s largest circulating English-language daily. Covers 1838 to 2012, featuring news, editorials, and commentary on political, economic, and cultural developments in India and abroad, from the colonial era to the 21st century.
An archival collection providing full-text access to the South China Morning Post from 1903 to 2001. This English-language newspaper, published in Hong Kong, offers coverage of regional and international events, with particular insight into Hong Kong, China, Imperial Japan, and Communist Asia. Includes articles, advertisements, editorials, photographs, and cartoons.
A database of official international trade statistics maintained by the United Nations. Provides detailed import and export data reported by countries worldwide, covering goods traded by commodity and partner country. Data is available from the 1960s to the present and can be filtered by year, country, commodity, and trade flow.
A vast archive of material drawn from hundreds of international and local organizations, documenting important aspects of LGBTQ life from 1940 onwards. Documents include: records and materials produced by LGBTQ rights groups, government briefings, reports and policy statements, surveys and election questionnaires, international news and magazine articles, photographs, interviews and more.
An online collection of more than 100,000 declassified records documenting historic U.S. foreign and military policy decisions since 1945.
Contains thousands of U.K. government documents relating to Britain’s international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports. Brings together three digitised print collections:
Provides researchers with rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks, menus, pamphlets, posters, vintage commericals, interviews and documentaries, as well as secondary sources.
A multi-archive collection which captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Covers various colonial frontiers of North America and the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
A digital archive of alternative press publications produced in the United States during the 20th century. Provides full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and journals created by feminist, LGBTQ+, African American, Native American, Lationo, GI, Campus Underground, Right-Wing and other activist and independent communities.
Documents everyday life in Britain from 1937 to the mid-1960s through diaries, surveys, reports, and publications created by investigators and volunteer writers. Covers topics such as wartime experiences, consumer habits, media, gender roles, and social attitudes. Includes personal diaries, directive responses, thematic studies, file reports, and publications.
A curated collection of primary and secondary sources exploring major global security events from the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes personal accounts, government documents, press releases, photographs, news footage, documentaries, scholarly essays, maps, and chronologies. Topics include Cold War crises, intelligence operations, cyber security, and international conflict.
Covers developments in journalism from the early 20th century onward, including investigative reporting, war coverage, and the impact of technology. Features first-hand accounts, memoirs, archival records, and video materials exploring media practices and ethics.