Use this guide to discover useful resources for conducting research in your subject area.
The University of Sussex's Library Search is a good starting point, as it spans all subjects and searches the university's collections and subscriptions. However, to be more comprehensive in your research, you’ll need to use other resources, databases and collections.
The best place to search will depend on what types of sources you’re looking for, your research topic, and where you are in your research process.
The resources listed on this guide are useful for Education, Social Work and Childhood & Youth Studies. This page lists some of the most used research databases in these fields.
The other pages of this guide list even more resources which are useful for research in these subjects, including databases for finding grey literature and more specialist research tools.
You can search for academic sources across all subjects, including education, social work, and childhood & youth studies, using multi-disciplinary research databases like Scopus:
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
A searchable collection which brings together multiple education-focused research databases. Contains a variety of scholarly content including e-books, journal articles, reports, government documents, magazine articles, conference proceedings and theses. Comprised of the British Education Index, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Educational Administration Abstracts and ERIC.
Subjects: Education, Social Work, Child Development
A database of material related to the growth and development of children up to age 21. It includes biomedical and social sciences content, as well as coverage of child rights and welfare issues. Contains over 400,000 records from journals, technical reports, books, and theses, dating from 1908 to the present day.