LibGuides: Education and Social Work: More Academic Sources

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index and abstract database for the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education and related areas. Updated monthly, it provides records from over 500 scholarly journals dating back to 1987.
Subjects: Social Sciences, Education, Social Work, Healthcare
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
An online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Over 2.5 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters from 1951.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
British Education Index (BEI) This link opens in a new window
A research database focused on UK education and training research, policy, and practice. It indexes more than 370,000 articles from scholarly journals and education-focused periodicals and over 11,000 theses, covering education from pre-school to university. Users can filter by educational level and age group. Coverage dates from 1929 to the present.
Subjects: Education
Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Access to indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to ebooks purchased by the University of Sussex Library.
Palgrave Connect ebook collections in Education This link opens in a new window
Access to ebook collections from Palgrave in Education (2010-2015).
Sage Knowledge ebook collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Sage Publishing's social science ebook platform.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
The School Collection This link opens in a new window
A resource for students who are training to be teachers. The collection contains children’s and young adult fiction, non-fiction, and poetry books for teaching practice and planning; also practical resources such as textbooks, exam syllabus resources and materials to develop subject knowledge with pupils.

Cochrane Library - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. We have access to a limited amount of freely available content.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new window
Clinical guidance, systematic reviews, evidence and research recommendations relating to health, drugs and technologies, public health, social care and healthcare management and commissioning
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals. Developed by the NCBI in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature.