LibGuides: Education and Social Work: Key Resources

Key Resources for Education and Social Work

Use this guide to find key resources for Education, Social Work and Childhood & Youth Studies research.

Start with University of Sussex's Library Search – It searches across all subjects and includes the university’s collections and subscriptions.

For deeper research, explore the subject-specific databases and tools listed here. The best resource to use depends on your topic, the type of sources you need, and your stage in the research process.

This page highlights key collections and research databases recommended for Education, Social Work and Childhood & Youth Studies. See other pages for further resources, including government publications, organisational reports and news.

Multidisciplinary Research Databases

You can search for academic sources across all subjects, including education, social work, and childhood & youth studies, using multi-disciplinary research databases like Scopus:

Scopus

Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Web of Science

A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.

Education

Ebsco Education Databases

A searchable collection which brings together multiple education-focused research databases. Contains a variety of scholarly content including e-books, journal articles, reports, government documents, magazine articles, conference proceedings and theses. Comprised of the British Education Index, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Educational Administration Abstracts and ERIC.
Subjects: Education, Social Work, Child Development
The School Collection
A resource for students who are training to be teachers. The collection contains children’s and young adult fiction, non-fiction, and poetry books for teaching practice and planning; also practical resources such as textbooks, exam syllabus resources and materials to develop subject knowledge with pupils.

Social Work

Social Work and Social Care Journal Collection
A collection of key social work journals covering issues including social work practice and policy, mental health, adult and child social care, family, health and more

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
An index and abstract database for the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education and related areas. Updated monthly, it provides records from over 500 scholarly journals dating back to 1987.
Subjects: Social Sciences, Education, Social Work, Healthcare

Childhood and Youth Studies

Child Development and Adolescent Studies

A database of material related to the growth and development of children up to age 21. It includes biomedical and social sciences content, as well as coverage of child rights and welfare issues. Contains over 400,000 records from journals, technical reports, books, and theses, dating from 1908 to the present day.

Childhood and Youth Studies Journals
A collection of key journals for covering young people’s experiences.

Research Methods

Sage Research Methods Online

A research methods resource created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Includes books, case studies, datasets, videos, and tools like the 'Methods Map' to support all stages of the research process. The University has access to the Core Collection and Sage Research Methods Cases.