LibGuides: Sussex Library Guide for Schools and Colleges: Open Access resources

Open access resources

open access resources
how to find open access material on Library Search

Archives Hub
National gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges. Fully searchable.
arXiv
Open access to over 880,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
BioMed Central Journals
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Education-line
A collection of free full text documents which are relevant to the study, practice and administration of education at a professional level.
EThOS
The UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
Google Scholar
Searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
Internet Archaeology Archive 1996-2006
An open access academic online journal. Contains articles, video, audio, searchable data sets, full-colour images, visualisations, animations and interactive mapping.
Social Care Online (SCIE)
The UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. Includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey literature, reports, and journal articles. Updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A freely available online encylopedia maintained by Stanford University.
VADS
An online resource for visual arts. Access to over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.