Research shows that evidence based self-help materials, particularly in combination with a small input from specialist support services, can be very effective in improving Mental Health and wellbeing.
Our Wellbeing Collection has over 300 print books in a quiet area of the library open for anyone wanting an opportunity for some mindful reflection. We have comfy seating, beanbags, plants and even a puzzle to help you relax.
You can now find a new Leisure Reading Collection of printed fiction and graphic novels, aimed at helping you to relax.
Also try out our sound installation Listening Desk, where you can listen to Wellbeing themed sounds at a desk that has grown a horn!
This guide lists these titles and details a few of the highlights, as well as providing links to relevant resources and services. We're keen for the collection to be shaped by its users, so if you do have any suggestions or feedback please do contact us at library.collections@sussex.ac.uk.
Latest Wellbeing books
Happy Mind, Happy Life: 10 Simple Ways to Feel Great Every Day
- by Rangan Chatterjee
- ISBN: 978-0241397855
- Publication date: March 2022
In his latest book, Dr Chatterjee shares cutting-edge insights into the science of happiness and reveals 10 simple ways to put you back in control of your health. It features real-life case studies and over 20 practical exercises, including lessons on how to treat yourself with respect, improve your relationship with your phone and deal with criticism. Whether you are at a crisis point or simply want to experience more joy, this book will help you feel calmer, more confident, and able to live your life to the full.
We say: 'Rangan Chatterjee is a doctor and podcaster who is really good at explaining and simplifying these issues'.
Why Has Nobody Told Me This Before?
- by Julie Smith
- ISBN: 978-0241529713
- Publication date: January 2022
Drawing on years of experience as a clinical psychologist, online sensation Dr Julie Smith shares all the skills you need to get through life's ups and downs. Filled with secrets from a therapist's toolkit, this is a must-have handbook for optimising your mental health. Dr Julie's simple but expert advice and powerful coping techniques will help you stay resilient no matter what life throws your way.
We say: 'Full of practical tips for people struggling with their mental health, presented in digestible bite-size chunks,this book emerged from psychologist Julie Smith's experience making TikTok videos during the pandemic'.
Gardening for Mind, Body and Soul : How to Nurture your Well-being with Nature
- by Annie Burdick
- ISBN: 978-1800071629
- Publication date: February 2022
We have long been aware of the positive effects of spending time in nature and how it can be a powerful antidote to the stresses of modern life. Science now tells us that cultivating a green space of our own can be restorative and even transformative for our physical and mental well-being, with a proven ability to reduce depression and anxiety, boost our happiness levels and provide a feeling of balance and calm.
We say: 'We find gardening really therapeutic so we wanted to include some books like this in the collection - and it's got a nice cover as well!'
The Female Factor: Making Women’s Health Count – and What it Means for You
- by Hazel Wallace
- ISBN: 9781529382860
- Publication date: July 2022
The male body has always been the default body in clinical medicine, making the assumption that women are just smaller versions of men. This could not be more wrong. This bold, comprehensive guide to understanding women's health shakes up the narrative for women of all ages. The Female Factor provides methods to protect and maximise your health in positive, affirming steps.
We say: 'Hazel Wallace is a doctor who realised that women's health has not been well addressed in thepast. This is a comprehensive guide that takes the reader through various phases of women's lives'.
- by Anna Jones
- ISBN: 978-0008172480
- Publication date: March 2021
In this exciting new collection of over 200 simple recipes, Anna Jones limits the pans and simplifies the ingredients for all-in-one dinners that keep things fast and easy. These super varied every night recipes celebrate vegetables and deliver knock-out flavour but without taking time and energy. There are one-tray dinners, like a baked dahl with tamarind-glazed sweet potato, quick dishes like tahini broccoli on toast, one-pot soups and stews like Persian noodle as well as one-pan fritters and pancakes such as golden rosti with ancho chilli chutney.
We say: 'We've made a bunch of recipes from this book, and can confirm that they are both straightforward and delicious - great for committed vegetarians and meat-eaters alike'.
If Women Rose Rooted: a Life-changing Journey to Authenticity and Belonging
- by Sharon Blackie
- ISBN: 978-1912836017
- Publication date: August 2019
A life-changing journey from the wasteland of modern society to a place of nourishment and connection. If Women Rose Rooted has been described as both transformative and essential. Sharon Blackie leads the reader on a quest to find their place in the world, drawing inspiration from the wise and powerful females in native mythology, and guidance from contemporary women who have re-rooted themselves in land and community and taken responsibility for shaping the future.
We say: 'Sharon Blackie is a feminist keen to draw connections between nature and mythology, and between the land and women's power'.