Key Resources for Politics
The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn index and abstract database for the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education and related areas. Updated monthly, it provides records from over 500 scholarly journals dating back to 1987.
Subjects: Social Sciences, Education, Social Work, Healthcare
- Alexander Street Press Video Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to a large number of videos across a wide range of subject areas. The University does not subscribe to all the content within the collection.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Combines collections from American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).
- British Election Study This link opens in a new windowExplaining Britain's electoral behaviour for over 50 years, The British Election Study is a non-partisan, objective independent study providing world-class data and research into the 2015 British general election, and which has covered every British general election since 1964.
- British Political Speeches This link opens in a new windowAn online archive of British political speeches, searchable by date, party, name or keyword. The archive currently holds texts of contemporary speeches given by Conservative, Labour and Liberal/Liberal Democrat Party leaders, and speeches dating back to 1895.
- Cabinet Papers 1915-1978 This link opens in a new window
Digitised and fully searchable records of the British Cabinet from 1915-78. Contains papers, precedent books, and notebooks, including minutes, memoranda, and conclusions from meetings. Divided into three themes: ‘The United Kingdom and the World,’ ‘The Economy, Business, and Resources,’ and ‘Society and the Welfare State.’
- Census UK This link opens in a new windowProvides access and links to various Census-related resources and postcode lookup tables. You will need to select log in via your home institution, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowFull text repository on Eastern Europe, its histories, languages and literatures, and its cultural, social and political realities. Access journals, ebooks and grey literature. UoS LIbrary does not subscribe to this resource, however, there is a large amount of Open Access content available. To access you will need to create an account.
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new windowInformation and statistics on the countries of the world.
- Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new window
A database of primary source documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries, integrating two archives: ‘Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers’ and ‘The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.’ The collections relate to the British governance of early settlements, encounters with Native Americans, piracy, the slave trade, and conflicts with the Spanish and French.
- British Communism at Home and Abroad, 1883-1991 This link opens in a new windowCommunism was one of the defining political and economic ideologies of the 20th century. This series charts its rise and fall through the eyes of the Communist Party of Great Britain (CPGB), allowing scholars to study how communist leaders and activists tried to influence, and were in turn influenced by, events and opinion both at home and abroad.
Collections include: Internal politics; campaigns and events; culture and society, crisis Britain and abroad, gender and feminism, Marxist history, trade unions and more. - Edward Elgar books This link opens in a new windowAccess to collections of ebooks on Law and Social and Political Science
- ESRC Census Programme This link opens in a new windowAccess to data and support services allowing users and researchers in UK Higher and Further Education to access the 1971, 1981, 1991 and 2001 UK censuses. Registration required. You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list.
- EUobserver This link opens in a new windowAccess to an independent online newspaper, aiming to support European democracy by giving people the information they need to hold the EU establishment to account.
- UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowProvides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords.
- House of Lords Parliamentary Papers 1800-1910 This link opens in a new windowEnables researchers to explore the British perspective on historical and contemporary events through an archive of official government documents spanning three centuries.
- House of Lords UK Bills 1901-2005/6 This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the bills brought forward in the House of Lords
- House of Lords UK Parliamentary Papers 1901-2005/6 This link opens in a new windowHouse of Lords Parliamentary Papers encompass wide areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, providing evidence of committees and commissions during a time when the Lords in the United Kingdom wielded considerable power.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowAn online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Over 2.5 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters from 1951.
- Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new windowYou can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
- Manchester Political Studies This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of 96 books, written by leading names in the field, covering political evens, ideas, movements, roles of government, voters, parties and leaders and the way that these elelments shape society as a whole.
- Nation Digital Archive This link opens in a new window150-year archive (1865-present) of reporting opinion and criticism. Primary source material including thousands of historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles in America and the world.
- Nexis This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowContaining two collections: British Politics and Society and Romantic Literature (the Corvey Collection).
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Research Encyclopedias contain peer-reviewed, long-form overview articles written and edited by leading scholars. The Encyclopedias are intended to be regularly updated, with new articles and topics being added and authors updating their existing articles.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Political Science ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on American politics, European Union, international relations, political economy and Russian politics.
- Parallel Parliament This link opens in a new windowContains information from Parliament UK, Hansard and Gov.uk from 2017 to today
- Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others
- Communisms and the Cold War, 1944-1986 This link opens in a new windowCommunisms and the Cold War, 1944-1986 covers 1000 years of world history: from politics & warfare, to slavery & revolution
- Debate and Division on the British Left, 1917-1964 This link opens in a new window
A collection of John Thomas (J.T.) Murphy and Molly Murphy’s personal and political papers, covering his imprisonment in 1925, his campaign to become a Member of Parliament, and his travels in post-revolutionary Russia. It also includes documents detailing Molly’s time as a suffragette, nursing on the frontlines of the Spanish Civil War and her time in the Soviet Union. Together, these materials provide insight into the internal debates occupying the British and European left during the 1920s and 1930s.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
An online collection of more than 100,000 declassified records documenting historic U.S. foreign and military policy decisions since 1945.
- Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This link opens in a new windowPart of the Global Issues Library, this curated database provides a rare breadth of study for students to investigate both crucial global trends in mass incarceration, and the detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries.
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) (1918 - 2015) This link opens in a new windowAn archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century.
- Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new windowContains a research and learning database providing in one place comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements.
- Sage Video Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a variety of educational videos relevant to course curricula in Business & Management, Education, Politics & International Relations. The breadth of video types available support diverse research and learning needs, such as tutorials, in-practice examples, and theory definitions, all fully citable with searchable transcripts. For a user guide, see the SAGE Video Guide box on the right hand column of this page.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Security Issues Online This link opens in a new windowSecurity Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history.
- Trade Unions in Crisis: the 1961 ETU Ballot-Rigging Scandal This link opens in a new windowThe ETU ballot-rigging trial was a case brought to the High Court by prominent union members John Thomas Byrne and Frank Chapple in 1961. They alleged that members of the Communist Party of Great Britain (CPGB) had engaged in "a conspiracy to defraud" in the most recent elections of the Electrical Trades Union (ETU), a relatively successful body that represented electricians, wire fitters, and telephone engineers. The judge ultimately ruled in the plaintiffs' favour.
This collection contains verbatim transcripts of the court case. The transcripts provide a unique insight into the CPGB’s influence in the post-war trade union movement. - UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowThe most detailed primary source for twentieth-century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. Covers the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.
- United Nations Treaties Series This link opens in a new windowA collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.
- Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowDocuments women's activism in public life by bringing together books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents (including primary documents), scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, links to other websites, and other ephemera.