LibGuides: Physics and Astronomy: Key Resources

Key Resources for Physics

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

American Institute of Physics Journals This link opens in a new window
A searchable full-text collection of select American Institute of Physics (AIP) publications. Includes journal articles, news, reviews, books, and conference proceedings from AIP and their partners from across the physical sciences.
Subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Engineering, Astronomy, Technology
American Physical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of American Physical Society (APS) publications, consisting of 17 scholarly journals, as well as ‘Physics Today’ and ‘Physics Magazine’ for news and research commentary, and archived journal collections dating back to 1893.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access to over 880,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to journals, transactions, letters, magazines and conference proceedings on computer science, electrical engineering and electronics.
Institute of Physics Journals (IOP) This link opens in a new window
Search electronic journal articles from the Institute of Physics.
Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new window
You can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search for articles in journals published by Nature Publishing Group.
Royal Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes seven journals, covering the breadth of the biological and physical sciences, as well as the history and philosophy of science.
Science This link opens in a new window
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news and commentary.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science and social sciences such as economics, management and business.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Other Resources

SCOAP3 Repository This link opens in a new window
Freely search, browse and download all Open Access articles sponsored by the international SCOAP3 (Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics) initiative.