Reference: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to five separate collections from Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History, British and Irish Literature, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation and Victorian Literature.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Philosophy ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on Aesthetics; Ancient Philosophy; Feminist Philosophy; General; History of Philosophy; Logic / Philosophy of Mathematics; Metaphysics / Epistemology; Moral Philosophy; Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Religion; Philosophy of Science and Political Philosophy.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowA freely available online encylopedia maintained by Stanford University.
Philosophy Databases
- PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes: 34,000 research reports from more than 140 policy institutes on climate change, cybersecurity, energy policy, international relations, terrorism, and various public health issues. Primary sources from important and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Thematic collections focusing on emerging areas of research includes Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowHigh quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.
- Humanities Index This link opens in a new windowAn international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowAn online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Over 2.5 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters from 1951.
Books
- Cambridge Digital Library This link opens in a new windowContains original scientific manuscripts, including the papers of Isaac Newton and Charles Darwin, along with the papers of the Board of Longitude from the Foundations of Science Collection and important works from many religious traditions, particularly Judaism, Islam, Christianity and Buddhism from the Foundations of Faith Collection.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowHundreds of volumes covering histories of the US and Britain, as well as more general areas covering economics, politics, religion, music, literary studies and language.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Fully searchable.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowContains more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts, aiming to be a virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin Literature: epic and lyric poetry, history, travel, philosophy and oratory, medical writers and mathematicians, and the Church Fathers who make particular use of pagan culture.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Philosophy ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on Aesthetics; Ancient Philosophy; Feminist Philosophy; General; History of Philosophy; Logic / Philosophy of Mathematics; Metaphysics / Epistemology; Moral Philosophy; Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy of Religion; Philosophy of Science and Political Philosophy.