LibGuides: Media and Film: Key Resources

Click on the below links for each section

Film and Television

Alexander Street Press Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to a large number of videos across a wide range of subject areas. The University does not subscribe to all the content within the collection.
American Film Scripts Online, Volumes I and II This link opens in a new window
A searchable full-text collection of over 1,500 authorised and copyrighted screenplays from the 1900s onwards, along with biographical information on directors and writers. Volume I contains scripts of the greatest American classics, whilst Volume II consists of more contemporary and international films.
Advanced indexing allows you to filter by director, writer, performer, genre and time period.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
Allows the user to view or listen to over 1 million TV and radio programmes, record from 60+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more. You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list. (New users will need to register their Sussex email address.)
Chronicle: BBC Northern Ireland's television news from the 60s and 70s This link opens in a new window
Contains material digitally transferred from the BBC NI news archive between 1963-1975. Notable events or broadcasts missing from this period have either not yet been digitised, are absent from the original film collection, or may not have been recorded. To access this resource, select your institution in the "where are you from" box then login. The first time you access it, you will need to create an account by selecting "new user".
Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new window
You can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
Screen Search This link opens in a new window
A catalogue of selected films from the Screen Archive South East collection.
TRILT This link opens in a new window
Listings for more than 560 TV and radio channels from 1995 onward with data available at least 10 days before transmission. Requires login for access.
TVTimes Project 1955-1985 This link opens in a new window
Access to the listings of the London Edition from September 1955 - March 1985.

Newspapers

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid 18th and 20th centuries. Supports research in History, Literature, Victorian Studies, Genealogy, Fine Arts, Finance/Economics, Political Science, and more. Access to parts 1-4, covering titles from 1732 to 1950.
British Newspapers 1600-1950 This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, 3 million pages of historic newspapers, news books & ephemera, National & Regional papers from British Isles.
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
An archive of the UK newspaper, The Daily Mail. Includes news stories, advertisements and images spanning over 100 years.
Early American Newspapers 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
Early American Newspapers 1801-1900 This link opens in a new window
500,000 issues from more than 500 historical newspapers. Includes weeklies, dailies and historical significant newspapers. Key titles include the New York Herald, New York Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Baltimore Sun, South Carolina City Gazette, Dallas Morning News, Kansas City Star, San Jose Mercury News.
Early American Newspapers 1803-1916: The American West This link opens in a new window
The largest online collection of 19th-century U.S. newspapers from the American West. Approx. 2,500 titles published in all 24 states west of the Mississippi River, plus a number of titles published east of the Mississippi for valuable political and economic context.
Guardian and Observer Historical Archive, 1821-2003 This link opens in a new window
A searchable digital archive containing articles from the first issues in 1821 for the Guardian and 1791 for the Observer.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2012 This link opens in a new window
Searchable, facsimile reproduction of TLS, 1902-2012, including identification of anonymous contributors.

Magazines and Periodicals

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Combines collections from American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the key periodicals for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK popular and trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, theatre and video games are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. We have access to the following collections:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
EIMA4: Rock, Folk and Hip-hop
EIMA5: Video Gaming
GQ Archive This link opens in a new window
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects.
Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991 This link opens in a new window
Features the complete 62-year run of the Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It's mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.
Picture Post This link opens in a new window
Complete archive from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957.
Punch Historical Archive 1841 to 1992 This link opens in a new window
Access to 150 years of Punch, the great satirical magazine
Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times of London for the period 1785-2008. Includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations or photographs.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to present. Subjects include textiles and dress, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, photography and graphic design, marketing and advertising.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 This link opens in a new window
Now replaced by C19: 19th Century Index
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

Theatre

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Offers streamed films of leading British theatre productions for educational use in schools, colleges and universities. Each production is supported by additional content, including interviews with the creative and production teams and written study guides.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.

Books and Journals

Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
An international research database for arts and humanities, indexing articles from over 370 scholarly journals, weekly magazines, and quality newspapers from the UK, the US, and other English-speaking countries. Updated monthly, with coverage from 1962.
Subjects: Architecture, Art, Cultural Studies, Film, Gender studies, History, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religion.
EBC Library This link opens in a new window
A cross-platform, multiple-devices, online-or-offline ebook system for academic and research libraries. You will need to login to access EBC Library.
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains over 400,000 article citations from more than 330 periodicals. Offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes: 34,000 research reports from more than 140 policy institutes on climate change, cybersecurity, energy policy, international relations, terrorism, and various public health issues. Primary sources from important and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Thematic collections focusing on emerging areas of research includes Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
Palgrave Connect ebook collections in Media and Culture This link opens in a new window
Access to ebook collections from Palgrave in Media and Culture (2010-2015).
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
High quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Taylor and Francis ebooks This link opens in a new window
Access to ebooks on humanities, social and behavioural sciences, education, built environment, and law.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.

General Reference Materials

Oxford Art Online (Includes Grove Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Allows users to access and search Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of handbooks covering different subject areas. Provides introductions to key topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.

Media and Film

Contents

Film and Television

Newspapers

Magazines and Periodicals

Theatre

Books and Journals

Archives

General Reference Materials