Law Subject Guide

Links to all contentious cases and advisory opinions referred to the Court since 1946.

Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law including ICC cases. Includes Final Appeal Courts, International Decisions, Law Journals, Law Reform and Treaties.

A research platform which brings together multiple databases, offering full-text access to legal and government documents. Includes law journals, U.S. federal and state case law, statutes, treaties, international law materials, and historical legal archives. Covers law, political science, history, and government studies.

Council of Europe treaties, their explanatory reports, the status of signatures and ratifications, the declarations and reservations made by States, as well as the notifications issued by the Treaty Office since 2000, are available on this website. Texts of declarations and reservations as well as electronic notifications are available in the Council of Europe's official languages only.

Find information on international investment policies, laws and treaties.

An official record of the UK's treaty obligations under international law and is sourced by Treaty Section of the Foreign & Commonwealth Office. UKTO gives access to information on over 14,000 treaties to which the UK is or has been a party with links to texts of command papers published in the UK Treaty Series from 1892.

An online database providing access to treaties and international agreements registered or filed with the United Nations since 1946. Includes full texts, status information, and related documents. Covers a wide range of subjects including human rights, environmental law, disarmament, trade, and international criminal law.

Find information on the International Intellectual Property system.

Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law including ICC cases. Includes Final Appeal Courts, International Decisions, Law Journals, Law Reform and Treaties.

Indian Government website for legislation.

Free, independent and non-profit access to 154 databases of Indian law.

The largest online primary source collection for South Asian studies, containing materials from 1700 to 1953. Includes rare books, journals, reports, and archival documents from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Burma, and Afghanistan, with texts in English and regional languages like Bengali and Sanskrit.

AustLII publishes public legal information -- that is, primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports for example) and a substantial collection of law journals.

Comprehensive access to freely available British and Irish legal information from the British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) including transcripts from UK courts.

A not-for-profit institute providing access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.

Free resource. Stanford Law School project translating Guiding Cases decided by China's Supreme People's Court.

A joint initiative by the major UK legal research libraries which provides information about holdings of European legal material and includes useful background articles.

Access cases, statutes, literature and bibliographies on German law in English language. Includes federal statutes, Federal Constitutional Court, the Federal Court of Justice, the Federal Labour Court, and some judgments by higher regional courts.

Free resources providing access to English translations of selected German codes and statutes.

GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.

N-Lex provides a single entry point to the national law databases on individual EU countries.

NZLII provides free access to a large collection of New Zealand legal materials, including case law from courts and tribunals, consolidated and historical legislation, law reform publications, and selected law journals.

Search state and federal cases. Includes; U.S. Supreme Court Opinions –1791 to present, U.S. Federal District, Appellate, Tax, and Bankruptcy Court Opinions –1923 to present; U.S. State Appellate and Supreme Court Opinions –1950 to present.

A research platform which brings together multiple databases, offering full-text access to legal and government documents. Includes law journals, U.S. federal and state case law, statutes, treaties, international law materials, and historical legal archives. Covers law, political science, history, and government studies.

A not-for-profit group that produces and maintains an extensive online open access legal collection

Free resource. Includes United States Code and opinions of U.S. Supreme Court from 1790 (as published in United States Reports) and of lower federal courts from 1880 (as published in the Federal Reporter).

An electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator.

Access key documents, legal instruments, comments, guidelines, principles, declarations, resolutions and other publications.

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), adopted in 1979 by the UN General Assembly, is often described as an international bill of rights for women.

Legislation, proposals and informed comments on refugee and asylum law.

The full text of judgments and decisions from 1988 as well as selected judgments from before this date.

NGO reports on human rights abuses.

IGO providing information on international migration law, policy debate and guidance.

The UN Human Rights Office produces an extensive range of publications on a variety of topics related to human rights.

Find information on international investment policies, laws and treaties.