Key Resources for Languages and English Language Teaching
The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.
- British Education Index (BEI) This link opens in a new window
A research database focused on UK education and training research, policy, and practice. It indexes more than 370,000 articles from scholarly journals and education-focused periodicals and over 11,000 theses, covering education from pre-school to university. Users can filter by educational level and age group. Coverage dates from 1929 to the present.
Subjects: Education
- English-Corpora This link opens in a new windowOnline interface to the linguistic corpora created and maintained at Brigham Young University.
Once you've logged into your Sussex account, the site may say 'not logged in'. Nevertheless, you should be able to use it without registering further. The person-shaped log-in icon at the top of the page should be yellow, not red. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes: 34,000 research reports from more than 140 policy institutes on climate change, cybersecurity, energy policy, international relations, terrorism, and various public health issues. Primary sources from important and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Thematic collections focusing on emerging areas of research includes Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new windowYou can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
- Liverpool Online Series: Critical Editions of French Texts This link opens in a new windowA resource-bank of critical editions and/or translations of French texts. Items in the series are selected to cover a range of areas throughout the field of French and Francophone studies.
- Nexis This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new windowFully searchable online access to Oxford's unabridged bilingual dictionaries in Chinese, French, German, Italian and Spanish.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowHigh quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowA research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.