LibGuides: The LGBTQ+ Resource Guide: Audio-Visual Resources

LGBTQ+ Audio-Visual Resources

British Library Player : LGBT+
Stories from the UK's LGBT Community
The National Archives Media Player : LGBT+
Audio and video archival resources tagged with an LGBT+ category
Queer Music Heritage
From January 2000 until March 2015 "Queer Music Heritage" was both a radio show and a website, which aimed to preserve and share queer music and culture. With over 580 hours of programming available to stream and download, this site has become the resource on the net for the history of LGBT music. Each month's page gives the playlist and additional pages of info, and you can stream or download every show; including gems such as copies of Vice Versa magazine from the 1940s.
What The Trans!?
UK based news outlet for the trans community.

BBC Podcast: My non-binary life
You might have heard the term non-binary. This is how it feels.
Join Caitlin Benedict & Amrou Al-Kadhi as they ask the big questions about gender & identity.
Making Gay History : The Podcast
The Making Gay History podcast mines Eric Marcus's decades-old audio archive of rare interviews — conducted for his award-winning oral history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement — to create intimate, personal portraits of both known and long-forgotten champions, heroes, and witnesses to history.
QueerWOC: The Podcast
A US-based online community created specifically for “people with feminine energies, marginalized genders, sexualties, and races” to meet and socialize. Its accompanying podcast (“an insurgent podcast for queer women of color”) is hosted by founders Nikeeta, an organizer and activist, and Money, a mental health counselor and doctoral candidate.

The general video collections listed below cover all topics and subjects. Search within them to find LGBTQ+ content.

Alexander Street Press Video Collection
Access to a large number of videos across a wide range of subject areas. The University does not subscribe to all the content within the collection.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

A streaming service for UK higher education, containing a searchable archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts dating back to the 1990s. New broadcasts added daily. Record from 75+ channels, create clips, search transcripts, compile playlists and more. Not available to users outside the UK.
You will need to select log in via UK Federation, then select University of Sussex from the dropdown list. (New users will need to register their Sussex email address.)
Kanopy (now via Library Search)

You can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.