Displays

The relationship between the personal lives of writers and the works they produce is at the heart of this intriguing new study. In particular, it reconsiders the place of John Middleton Murry (1889-1957) in the development of literary modernism in Britain. Drawing on Murry's unpublished journals and long-forgotten novels, Circulating Genius examines his significance as a 'circulator' of ideas, reputations and critical positions in his roles of editor, literary critic, novelist, friend and lover and complicates the arguments of earlier biographers and critics about his relationships - both personal and professional - with Katherine Mansfield and D. H. Lawrence. Key Features. Rewrites standard assumptions about John Middleton Murry's relationships with Katherine Mansfield and D. H. Lawrence Provides intertextual readings of fiction by Mansfield, Lawrence and Murry Considers Murry's controversial role in the dissemination of modernist critical positions Explores marginalisation and centrality in the creation of the modernist canon.

'"We owe to her the prosperity of the 'free' story," Elizabeth Bowen said of Katherine Mansfield: "she untrammelled it from conventions." Here, at last, is the evidence in full: the edition Mansfield deserves.'Professor David Trotter, University of Cambridge 'This much needed and very welcome work does two important things: It gives us all of Mansfield's fiction, with useful notes; and it removes many of John Middleton Murry's intrusions into the stories he edited after Mansfield's death. We all owe the editors, Gerri Kimber and Vincent O'Sullivan, a debt of gratitude for this excellent edition of the work of a major modernist writer.'Professor Robert Scholes, Brown University The Edinburgh Edition of the Collected Fiction of Katherine Mansfield: Volume 1 Fiction 1898-1915 Edited by Gerri Kimber and Vincent O'Sullivan The first complete edition of Katherine Mansfield's fiction These two volumes collect together 219 of Mansfield's stories, including 4 newly discovered, previously unpublished stories. Together the volumes expand considerably upon the largest previous single collected edition of 85 stories. Gathered here are Mansfield's best-loved stories, stories uncollected, unpublished or left incomplete during her lifetime, the full text of The Aloe, from which Mansfield shaped her ground-breaking work Prelude, and her own manuscript versions of several stories later 'edited' by her husband, John Middleton Murry. The volumes are arranged in chronological order, so that readers can trace Mansfield's progress as a creative writer, month-by-month, from her first schoolgirl story in 1898 to her last completed story in July 1922. Mansfield will be read differently, and more accurately, as a result of this edition. The annotations and their cross-referencing to her letters and notebooks deepen what we know of the context and genesis of her fiction. This edition is testament to Mansfield's importance among twentieth century English-language writers and to her rare and original handling of the short story form. The Edinburgh Edition of the Collected Works of Katherine Mansfield in 4 volumes

These two volumes collect together 215 of Mansfield's stories and expand considerably upon the largest previous single collected edition of 85 stories. They include Mansfield's best-loved stories, stories uncollected, unpublished or left incomplete during her lifetime, the full text of The Aloe, from which Mansfield shaped her ground-breaking work Prelude, and her own manuscript versions of several stories later 'edited' by her husband, John Middleton Murry. The volumes are arranged in chronological order, so that readers can trace Mansfield's progress as a creative writer, month-by-month, from her first schoolgirl story in 1898 to her last completed story in July 1922. Mansfield will be read differently, and more accurately, as a result of this edition. The annotations and their cross-referencing to her letters and notebooks deepen what we know of the context and genesis of her fiction. This edition is testament to Mansfield's importance among twentieth century English-language writers and to her rare and original handling of the short story form. Key Features: Brings together for the first time all of Mansfield's extant fictionRefocuses critical attention on one of the most influential exponents of modernist fictionThe essential Mansfield text for individual scholars working on Mansfield studies, as well as those with a more general interest in Mansfield the writerRedefines Mansfield as a writer for the next generationThe Edinburgh Edition of the Collected Works of Katherine Mansfield, Volumes 1-4

This volume, the second of four, includes her correspondence from early 1918 to the autumn of 1919. Her love for Middleton Murry, her response to the First World War, and her acceptance of the inevitable advance of tuberculosis, are handled with wit and warmth, in a text which has been transcribed afresh from the original letters.

The 73 three short stories and 15 unfinished fragments contained in this volume represent the whole range of Katherine Mansfield's writing. Contemporary critics compared her to Chekhov in her treatment of apparently trifling incidents and her symbolic use of objects to convey powerful atmosphere.

Katherine Mansfield was a formidable critic: astute, witty and something more - she had, as Middleton Murry put it, an extraordinary style and critical verve, mastery and 'sureness of touch'. This is the first scholarly edition of her critical writings. A substantial introduction sets the scene for an understanding of Katherine Mansfield's position as a woman writer on the edge of, but never completely accepted by, Bloomsbury; responding to the pressures of the First World War, illness and exile, and attempting to reconcile the facts of life with the truths of fiction. Careful annotation supplies essential information for following the evolution of her ideas - and her art - from 1907 until her death in 1923.

'Journal of Katherine Mansfield' is one of the great classics of 20th century literature. Compiled by her husband John Middleton Murry soon after she died and published in 1927, it consists of fragments of diary entries, unposted letters, and scraps of writing.

This book offers a new introduction to Katherine Mansfield's short stories focusing on the question of the connection between life and writing in her work. This book offers a new introduction to Katherine Mansfield's short stories informed by recent biographical, critical and editorial work on her life and on her stories, letters and notebooks. The study focuses on the question of the connection between life and writing in Mansfield's work: it explores her engagements with issues of personal identity and elaborates her theory and practice of a poetics of impersonation whereby the identity of the author is merged with those of her characters. Bennett argues that Mansfield's multiple and unstable identities and identifications are bound up with issues of colonialism, nationality, gender, and sexuality, and that they may be said to be embedded within the very texture of her prose. Mansfield's impersonations, in their engagement with a 'queer' aesthetics, with strangeness and surprise, with hatred, with an unsettling of personal identity and with the uncertainties of national and sexual identification, constitute the risk and the achievement of Katherine Mansfield's writing.

A new biography of Katherine Mansfield's formative years illustrated with photographs never published before. Focusing on the first 20 years of Katherine Mansfield's life, from her birth in 1888 to her final departure from New Zealand in 1908, this biography reveals the importance of Mansfield's childhood and adolescent years to her development as a writer and offers unique insights into her New Zealand stories. Gerri Kimber draws on detailed reminiscences of Mansfield's former school friends and acquaintances, early letters, personal papers, notebooks and family papers as well as on previously unused archive material and photographs. Kimber illuminates Mansfield's home life and school days, her friendships, first infatuations and sexual experimentation both with young men and young women and reveals the effect Mansfield's experiences had on her earliest stories. What emerges is a fascinating picture of a feisty and imaginative young girl who would turn into an expressive, non-conformist adolescent: the unruly Kass Beauchamp who would become Katherine Mansfield, the celebrated modernist writer. Illustrated with more than 120 photographs.

In a letter, Katherine Mansfield writes: 'I hate the sort of licence that English people give themselves - to spread over and flop and roll about. I feel as fastidious as though I write with acid'. This book explores Mansfield's idiosyncratic aesthetic by focusing on her position as an outsider in Britain: a New-Zealander, a woman writer, a Fuavist, and eventually a consumptive. Her sharp-edged fiction is discussed in relation to her involvement with Post-Impressionist painting and painters.

The compelling and intimate story of one of the world's foremost short story writers Weaving together intimate details from Katherine Mansfield's letters and journals with the writings of her friends and acquaintances, Kathleen Jones creates a captivating drama of this fragile yet feisty author: her life, loves and passion for writing. The story takes us beyond Mansfield's death in 1923 to explore the life of her husband, John Middleton Murry - and his relationship with three further wives - as he manipulated the posthumous publication of Mansfield's unpublished work. In this vivid portrayal of one of the world's foremost short story writers, the first new biography for a quarter of a century, Kathleen Jones crafts an intriguing narrative of Katherine Mansfield's relationships, illnesses and creativity.

Celebrates the centennial of Katherine Mansfield's Bliss This book celebrates the centennial of Bliss's publication by offering new readings of some of Mansfield's most well-known stories, revealing not only the depth and innovation of her work but also the extent to which she was instrumental in revisioning the potential of the short story form. It includes the publication of a newly discovered short story potentially by Mansfield, with an explanatory essay. It also presents a selection of new poetry and a new short story by acclaimed New Zealand author Paula Morris, all inspired by Mansfield.

What Virginia Woolf called 'Childlikeness' is a facet of Mansfield's personality which permeates every aspect of her personal and creative life. It is present in her mature fiction, where some of her most well-known and accomplished stories, such as 'Prelude' and 'At the Bay', have children as protagonists. It is present in her early poetry, which includes a collection of poems for children intended for publication and it is also present in her juvenilia, where many of the stories she wrote from an early age for school magazines and other publications, feature children. Even as an adult, Mansfield's love of the miniature, her delight in children in general, her fascination with dolls, all feature in her personal writing. Her relationship with John Middleton Murry was characterised by their mutual descriptions of themselves as little children fighting against a corrupt world. Including a newly discovered short story potentially by Mansfield, with an explanatory essay, this volume engages each of these aspects of the child in Mansfield's work and life.

This volume offers new interpretations of Katherine Mansfield's work by bringing together recent biographical and critical-theoretical approaches to her life and art in the context of Continental Europe. It features chapters on Mansfield's reception in several European countries together with her own translations of other European writers.

Explores the literary connection between Katherine Mansfield and Elizabeth von Arnim Elizabeth von Arnim is best remembered as the author of Elizabeth and Her German Garden (1898) and The Enchanted April (1922), as well as being the elder cousin of Katherine Mansfield. Recently, new research into the complex relationship between these writers has extended our understanding of the familial, personal and literary connections between these unlikely friends. We know that they were an influential presence on one another and reviewed each other's work. By bringing the work of Mansfield and von Arnim together - including on matters of artistry, on mourning, on gardens, on female resistance - this book establishes shared preoccupations in ways that refine and extend our knowledge of writing in the period. It also deepens our understanding of the historical and literary contexts within which both of these extraordinary authors worked.

Provides new reflections on literary influence using Katherine Mansfield as a case study Katherine Mansfield and Literary Influence seeks to understand influence, a powerful yet mysterious and undertheorised impetus for artistic production, by exploring Katherine Mansfield's wide net of literary associations. Mansfield's case proves that influence is careless of chronologies, spatial limits, artistic movements and cultural differences. Expanding upon theories of influence that focus on anxiety and coteries, this book demonstrates that it is as often unconscious as it is conscious, and can register as satire, yearning, copying, homage and resentment. This book maps the ecologies of Mansfield's influences beyond her modernist and postcolonial contexts, observing that it roams wildly over six centuries, across three continents and beyond cultural and linguistic boundaries. Katherine Mansfield and Literary Influence identifies Mansfield's involvement in six modes of literary influence - Ambivalence, Exchange, Identification, Imitation, Enchantment and Legacy. In so doing, it revisits key issues in Mansfield studies, including her relationships with Virginia Woolf, John Middleton Murry and S. S. Koteliansky, as well as the famous plagiarism case regarding Anton Chekhov. It also charts new territories for exploration, expanding the terrain of Mansfield's influence to include writers as diverse as Colette, Evelyn Waugh, Nettie Palmer, Eve Langley and Frank Sargeson. Key Features* Extends upon models of literary influence that are oriented around the ideas of anxiety and coteries* Engages with and develops areas of scholarly inquiry investigating modernism as the product of social and intellectual networks* Offers new interpretations of Mansfield's relationships with writers with whom she is often associated, such as D H Lawrence, Anton Chekhov and Virginia Woolf* Traces new connections between Mansfield's work and the work of writers not previously linked to Mansfield, such as Evelyn Waugh, Colette and Nettie Palmer Sarah Ailwood is Assistant Professor in the School of Law & Justice at the University of Canberra, Australia. Melinda Harvey is Lecturer in English at Monash University, Australia.

Katharine Mansfield's arrival in London in 1908 marked the start of her professional career as a writer and this study marks a revival of her reputation as one of the foremost practitioners of the short story. The international line-up of contributors attests to Mansfield's global appeal. By discussing her fiction in relation to her life, the contributors to this critical work present reinterpretations and readings. Enhanced by new transcriptions of manuscripts and access to her diaries and letters, these readings combine biographical approaches with critical-theoretical ones and focus not only on philosophy and fiction, but class and gender, biography/autobiography. The historical and aesthetic studies of Mansfield's work all take place within a framework of modernist literature, criticism and theory, thereby expanding our understanding of what it means to be a Modernist while allocating Mansfield a firm place in any current study of Modernism.

Explores Katherine Mansfield's engagement in the periodical culture of the early twentieth century This book considers Mansfield's ambivalent position as a colonial woman writer by examining her contributions to the political weekly The New Age, the avant-garde little magazine Rhythm and the literary journal The Athenaeum. Contextualising Mansfield's work against the editorial strategies and professional cultures of each periodical, the book deepens and complicates older critical assumptions about the trajectory of Mansfield's development as a writer. Key Features Provides the first sustained scholarly examination of Mansfield's engagement with and relation to early twentieth-century periodical cultureForegrounds the original material contexts in which Mansfield produced the majority of her work, emphasising a dialogic or 'conversational' model for modernismInterrogates Mansfield's ambivalent self-positioning within English literary circles as a 'colonial-metropolitan modernist' and 'outsider'Integrates ideas of the recent 'transnational turn' across literary studies into the field of periodical scholarship

Explores the multiple ways in which Mansfield's fiction resonates with the landscapes opened up by psychology and psychoanalysis In line with the recent surge of critical interest in early psychology, the contributors read Mansfield's work alongside figures like William James and Henri Bergson, opening up new perspectives on affect in her work.  While these essays trace strands within the intellectual milieu in which Mansfield came of age, others explore the intricate interplay between Mansfield's fiction and Freudian theory, seeing her work as emblematic of the uncanny doubling of modernist literature and psychoanalysis. Key Features New readings of Mansfield's work alongside figures like William James, Théodule Ribot and Henri BergsonNew perspectives on the representation of affect and emotion in Mansfield's fictionThe essays open up novel ways of thinking about fiction of unrivalled psychological complexityMansfield's work is shown to be emblematic of the uncanny doubling of modernist literature and psychoanalysis

Examines the 'Russian influence' on both Mansfield's craft as a short story writer and her life choices Katherine Mansfield's passion for Russian literature and culture is well documented in her letters and notebooks. Anton Chekhov was not just one of her most significant literary influences, but also a mythological presence with whom she mentally communicated every day. The emotional bond became even stronger when she discovered that the two of them shared the same deadly disease. But her fascination with Russia and its culture extended beyond Chekov and included the Ballets Russes and an interest in Russian politics, in part sparked by Maxim Gorky. She also read and assimilated several other Russian writers, including Fyodor Dostoevsky and Marie Bashkirtseff as well as Leo Tolstoy. This volume presents essays that engage with many aspects of Mansfield's response to all things Russian as well as to the Russians she met in England and France. In addition, the volume presents a collection of images of Gurdjieff's Institute at Fontainebleau, several of which have never been seen before. Key Features It includes contributions by both English and Russian scholarsMansfield's personal and artistic response to Russian literature, culture, philosophy, and artExplores her responses to the actual Russians she met in England and -- towards the end of her life -- in France

Explores Mansfield's identity as a (post)colonial writer in relation to her foremost reputation as a European modernist In seeking new possibilities for alignments with, and resolutions to, the contradictory agendas implied by the terms '(post)colonial' and 'modernist', the essays in this volume address the clashing perspectives between Mansfield's life in Europe, where her troubled self-designation as the 'little colonial' became a fertile source of her distinctive brand of literary modernism, and her ongoing, complex relationship with her New Zealand homeland. The contributors investigate Mansfield's (post)colonial modernism in the context both of New Zealand settler-colonial fiction and of her European literary inheritance. Affinities with writers such as Edith Wharton and Robert Louis Stevenson reveal that 'home' can be a diasporic place, combining alienation with belonging. The volume also registers initial responses to the widened scope for Mansfield scholarship launched by the first two volumes of the new Edinburgh Collected Works of Katherine Mansfield. Includes: *Previously unpublished poetry and fiction *Reports of current research findings on Katherine Mansfield *An introduction by Janet Wilson, Professor of English and Postcolonial Studies, University of Northampton *Reviews of recent publications on Mansfield and her contemporaries

Reveals how Katherine Mansfield's understanding of art and music shaped and inspired her writing This volume emphasises the centrality of Katherine Mansfield to the cultural life of her time, illuminating how her love of painting and of music inspired her art. The Fauvist paintings of the Scottish colourist F.D. Fergusson, the music of Debussy, and indeed, of Wagner, all helped to forge a precise aesthetic, founded above all on the intense study and - in the case of music - practice of artistic technique. The essays in this volume explore Mansfield's relationships with the visual arts and with music, bringing to light the way in which these helped to shape the formal qualities of her writing: its beauty of line and intensely musical effects. Mansfield's relationship with Woolf is also strongly in the frame. As befits a volume dedicated to the arts, there is an introduction, poetry and a new short story by highly-acclaimed writers who count Mansfield amongst their chief inspirations.

Fantastic and Gothic readings of Mansfield's short stories present us with a covert, darker world, alongside seemingly familiar actions and events This volume investigates an unexpectedly rich vein of literary gothic motifs and tropes found within Mansfield's modernist, experimental prose. The essays investigate her development of the fairytale in several stories discloses how the 'Cinderella' story underpins 'Her First Ball', how 'Little Red Riding Hood' lurks beneath 'The Little Governess', and how the figure of the changeling inhabits 'A Suburban Fairy Tale'. Mansfield's explorations of the conscious and unconscious mind are elucidated through a discussion of Freud's theory of the uncanny and the unsettling effects of language in Mansfield's In A German Pension stories. Finally, the term 'charm' is revealed as spanning the two extremes of the fantastic and the ordinary which combine in Mansfield's evocations of the enchantment of domestic interiors.

This volume enables students and scholars to appreciate Mansfield's central place in various trans-European networks of modernism working in or through translation and translated idioms. Katherine Mansfield had a lifelong interest in literatures in translation and in literary translating. From her early notebooks until letters written just before her death, she records the joy of learning foreign languages and exploring literatures outside the mainstream Anglophone tradition, often using transformative, inter-lingual games of her own as a source of creativity. Meanwhile, her enduring popularity abroad is ensured by translations of her works, all of which reveal sociological and even ideological agendas of their own.

New essays and creative explorations of the friendship, milieu and writings of Katherine Mansfield and Virginia Woolf 'I love to think of you, Virginia, as my friend ... pray consider how rare it is to find someone with the same passion for writing, who desires to be scrupulously truthful - and to give you the freedom of the city without any reserves at all.' Katherine Mansfield's ardent overture to Virginia Woolf launched a historic friendship of mutual admiration and fascination shot through with wary misunderstandings, rivalry and envy. These comparative essays explore the shared terrain of these modernist women writers and shed new light on their 'curious & thrilling' literary relationship - absorbing, intimate, distant, secretly critical, competitive, sometimes foundering in 'quicksands' - and its profound impact on their creative imaginations.

Examines Katherine Mansfield's engagement with the First World War and its impact on her writings This special issue of Katherine Mansfield Studies is in remembrance of the centenary of one of the most significant events of the modernist period. Like the reclamation of women's war writings that we have already seen in relation to Virginia Woolf and others, Mansfield's literary response to the key political event of her time is fundamental to our understanding of her developing writerly style. It is in her responses to the war that we find a 'political Mansfield', and the articles in this volume provide us with a greater appreciation of Mansfield in her socio-historical context. In offering new readings of Mansfield's explicit and implicit war stories, the contributions to this volume refine and extend our knowledge of particular stories and their genealogy. They illuminate the specific and more general influences of the war on Mansfield's evolving technique and, jointly, they reveal the importance of the war on her literary language, as well as for her own particular brand of modernism. This volume helps develop our ideas of what constitute war writings and, in so doing, expands the scope of Mansfield scholarship and the field of First World War studies.

A collection of the correspondence between Katherine Mansfield and John Middleton Murry. Their lives were inextricably, and often painfully, intertwined until her tragically early death from tuberculosis in 1923.

The first book-length study of the poetics of co-translation in the context of British and European modernism. This study focuses on the considerable but neglected body of works translated by S. S. Koteliansky in collaboration with Virginia Woolf and Katherine Mansfield. It provides close-readings and broad cross-cultural contextualisations to assess the influence that translating from Russian had on the individual writers, as well as its resonance within the dynamics of modernist writing. Claire Davison shows that, read as an oeuvre, their various co-translations shed light on how their own creative vision was evolving, particularly through explorations of voice, consciousness, gender and polyidentity. And their co-translating ventures enriched their responses to the great classics but also invited innovative dialogues with other genres: critical essays, biography and early-twentieth-century writing from Russia. The focus here is on co-translation as praxis. Looking specifically at the immediate post-revolutionary and post-war years, when political, ideological and aesthetic interests were so intertwined, the book examines the cultural and historical dynamics of translation, which reveal a clear interface between literary creation, textual production, publishing networks and the literary translator. Key Features:. Mul> The first in-depth study of the impact that translating from the Russian had on these individual writers as well as on the shaping of modernist poetics in general Feeds into a recent renewal of interest in the intense era of Russian fever in the early 20th century Focuses on the processes of translating including negotiations with style, voice, and textual rhythm.