Explore the different topics covered by our Wellbeing Collection
Our Wellbeing Collection contains over 300 books to support the physical and mental wellbeing of our students, on topics including:
We've pulled out some of our own recommendations from these different areas below, and you can also browse a full list of wellbeing titles here.
All of these are are available to borrow for up to 6 weeks.
AND - if you have any suggestions for books we should acquire for the collection just drop us a line at library.collectiondevelopment@sussex.ac.uk.
Anxiety
We're All Mad Here: The No-Nonsense Guide to Living with Social Anxiety
- by Claire Eastham
- ISBN: 978-1785920820
- Publication date: November 2016
This no-nonsense guide to beating social anxiety covers everything from surviving university and the workplace, through to social media and making it through parties and dates (whilst actually enjoying them!).
With honest insights about her own social anxiety and a healthy dose of humour, award-winning blogger Claire Eastham describes what social anxiety is, why it happens, and how you can lessen its effects with lifestyle choices, talking therapies or even a hug from your favourite canine friend!
Beating Stress, Anxiety & Depression : Groundbreaking Ways to Help You Feel Better
- by Jane A. Plant
- ISBN: 9780749939915 (pbk.)
- Publication date: May 2008
The epidemic of stress, anxiety and depression that is sweeping the Western world is accompanied by huge social, economic and personal costs. This accessible and groundbreaking book is designed to help sufferers, their families and health professionals. The authors, both former sufferers, argue that the medical profession's current approach is not working. They dispel the fear and prejudice surrounding mental illness and present a new, effective programme for dealing with stress, anxiety and depression. They describe the successes that they and others have achieved through new treatment methods.
Finding happiness
This Naked Mind: Control Alcohol, Find Freedom, Discover Happiness & Change Your Life
- by Annie Grace
- ISBN: 9780996715003
- Publication date: October 2015
Millions of people worry that drinking is affecting their health, yet are unwilling to seek change because of the misery and stigma associated with alcoholism and recovery. They fear drinking less will be boring, involving deprivation, difficulty and significant lifestyle changes. This Naked Mind offers a new solution. Packed with surprising insight into the reasons we drink, it will open your eyes to the startling role of alcohol in our culture. Annie Grace brilliantly weaves psychological, neurological, cultural, social and industry factors with her extraordinarily candid journey resulting in a must read for anyone who drinks.
Add More ~ing to Your Life: A Hip Guide to Happiness
- by Gabrielle Bernstein
- ISBN: 9780307951557
- Publication date: October 2011
Designed to bulldoze negative thought patterns and create personal change through positive affirmations, physical activity and visualisation meditations, Gabrielle guides the reader to happiness in 30 days through her dynamic ~ing, a proven method of sharpening one's intuitive senses and activating untapped inspirations.
Gabrielle will prepare you to change your life by accessing a state of flow, helping you connect with your ~ing, your inner guide, and readying you to release your limiting beliefs and to choose happiness.
Living well
Eat Sweat Play: How Sport Can Change Our Lives
- by Anna Kessel
- ISBN: 9781509808106
- Publication date: July 2017
Sport's for everyone . . . isn't it? Society has led us to believe that women and sport don't mix. But why? What happens to the young girls who dare to climb trees and cartwheel across playgrounds? In her exploration of major taboos, from sex to the gender pay gap, sports journalist Anna Kessel discovers how sport and exercise should play an integral role in every sphere of our modern lives. Covering a fascinating range of women, from Sporty Spice to mums who box and breastfeed, Eat Sweat Play reveals how women are finally reclaiming sport, and by extension their own bodies, for themselves and how you can too.
Declutter your home : letting go of all the stuff you don't need
- by Nick Sturgeon
- ISBN: 9781838130411
- Publication date: September 2020
Taking action to clear the mess and sort through the possessions around you can seem like too much. There is such a volume of 'stuff' in your space that you struggle to know where to begin! What do you do with family items that you don't really like or want? How do you separate the things you love from those items you choose to ignore in your home? How can you step away from negative people and situations which cause you stress and anxiety? Declutter Your Home is the only guide you need to regain control of your living space and your home office.
Mindfulness
- by Ray Owen
- ISBN: 9780415676588
- Publication date: September 2022
Facing the Storm is a self-care book which aims to assist readers in dealing with life-changing events and recovering in the face of adversity. Drawing on evidence-based techniques from CBT and mindfulness and acceptance approaches, and a lifetime of experience with people confronting their own death, this book will show readers ways to cope better in the face of life’s storms. It guides them to make sense of what is happening, to make better choices in the face of disaster, build their ability to recover from the impact of events, and prioritise the things that matter most to them.
The Student Guide to Mindfulness
- by David Mair
- ISBN: 9781526463234
- Publication date: October 2019
More than ever students are reporting high levels of stress, depression and loneliness while at university – so looking after your mental wellbeing is just as important as academic preparation. This book provides grounded guidance on how mindfulness can be used to cope with the main sources of anxiety while you are completing your studies, so you can find balance and make the most of student life.
Relationships
- by Norva Semoy Abiona
- ISBN: 9780993158407
- Publication date: June 2015
Relationship change expert, coach and inspirational speaker, Norva Semoy Abiona, holds nothing back in this courageous look at abusive relationships. She has helped individuals overcome anger, resolve conflict and restore trust and broken relationships; all in an effort to transform homes and lives. In addition, she been there, experienced it all, and is now willing to share the wealth of her information with you. Why? You might ask. Freedom! She’s felt the nagging loneliness and sadness of oppression, and now dedicates her life to helping others escape the same fate.
The subtle spectrum : an honest account of autistic discovery, relationships and identity
- by Joanna Grace
- ISBN: 9780367709228
- Publication date: June 2021
Am I autistic, or is autism something I suffer from? Should I come out, to my friends, to my family, to the people I work with? Should I drop the mask? How can I explain my experience to a neurotypical world?
The Subtle Spectrum offers an exploration into the postdiagnostic landscape of autism and the transformative journey of one woman, from her awareness of difference, through acceptance, to an embracing of autistic identity and beyond as she questions the cultural identity of autism.
Stress management
Brilliant stress management : how to manage stress in any situation
- by Mike Clayton
- ISBN: 9780273750543
- Publication date: August 2011
Brilliant Stress Management helps you work out what it is that makes you stressed and shows you how you can tackle it. Whether you crumble under pressure, get angry, or simply bury your head in the sand, this book provides effective techniques to help you take the edge off and even channel your stress in a positive way.
- Know how to create a calm and stress-free environment
- Make better use of your time – never again get overwhelmed
- Identify stress in yourself and others – and know what to do about it
Coping with Stress at University: A Survival Guide
- by Stephen Palmer and Angela Puri
- ISBN: 9781848605671
- Publication date: March 2006
Coping with Stress at University comprehensively covers the main problems and stresses that a student may experience during their university career. Looking at university life from a variety of angles, this book equips the student to be able to deal with stressful situations ranging from exam pressure to relationship problems, from homesickness to managing finances. Although the problems do not change, the way a student faces them can and the more effective the approach, the less stress the student will feel when tackling their concerns.