Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sussex Library Search Skills Guide

Searching beyond the Library

screenshot of online resources A-Z link from Library website

Online Resources

The library subscribes to hundreds of specialist online resources, and searching Library Search will not search all of these resources. They include databases like JSTOR, Scopus, and Web of Science. You can search these specialist database by clicking the Online Resources A-Z tab on the Library homepage. There you will find an alphabetized directory of all the online resources the Library subscribes to. Use the A-Z tabs to find the resource you want, e.g "J" for Jstor. If you are not sure which resources to use, you can refer to your Subject Guide.

Your Subject Guide

Your Subject Guide provides you with a list of key resources relevant to your subject area, for example: Literature Online (LION) for English and Drama students. Search across a number of resources and databases to find specialist subject research. Your Subject Guide can be found on the Online Resources A-Z page. You will also find guides to finding more general information resources - such as statistics and official publications. 

Special Collections

The University’s Special Collections of archives, manuscripts and rare books can be searched via The Keep’s website.

Library guides

What is a database?

Databases are like online libraries that provide access to a variety of online research materials. Each database provides access to a specific collection of research, and can be subject or discipline specific. Databases make it easy to search thousands of journal collections at once. 

Each database in the A-Z will provide access to a variety of different materials; some of the most common are:

  • scholarly journal articles

  • magazine articles

  • newspaper articles

  • eBooks

  • conference papers 

  • and more....