LibGuides: Law Subject Guide: EU Law

EU Legislation

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online legal research database providing access to a wide range of UK legal materials including legislation, case law, legal commentary (includes Halsbury´s Laws of England) and journals.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Database of legal materials from the UK, EU, US and other common law jurisdictions. Contains full-text case law and legislation, journal articles and law journals.
You will need to login to access Westlaw
The ABC of European Union law This link opens in a new window
The ABC of EU law' by Prof. Klaus-Dieter Borchardt examines the roots of the European project and its development as a legal order.
EU Pharmaceutical Legislation This link opens in a new window
Details of legal framework governing medicinal products for human use in the EU.
EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window
Access to, 1951 to present, the Official Journal of the European Union; EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation); preparatory documents (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers); EU case-law (judgments, orders); international agreements; EFTA documents and summaries of EU legislation.
Europa This link opens in a new window
The European Union's own freely available information portal
European Parliament’s Legislative Observatory This link opens in a new window
Follow the decision-making process for all EU legislative and non-legislative procedures going through the European Parliament.
IPEX: the platform for EU interparliamentary exchange This link opens in a new window
A platform for the mutual exchange of information between the national Parliaments and the European Parliament.

EU Case law

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online legal research database providing access to a wide range of UK legal materials including legislation, case law, legal commentary (includes Halsbury´s Laws of England) and journals.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Database of legal materials from the UK, EU, US and other common law jurisdictions. Contains full-text case law and legislation, journal articles and law journals.
You will need to login to access Westlaw
Commission on European Family Law This link opens in a new window
Information about developments in harmonisation of family law in Europe.
CURIA This link opens in a new window
Access recent judgments and opinions of Court of Justice of the European Union.
EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window
Access to, 1951 to present, the Official Journal of the European Union; EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation); preparatory documents (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers); EU case-law (judgments, orders); international agreements; EFTA documents and summaries of EU legislation.

EU Law: Treaties

Council of the EU Treaties and Agreements This link opens in a new window
Contains information on European Union treaties and agreements.
Directory of international agreements This link opens in a new window
Find agreements concluded by the EU as part of its international responsibilities. Browse by subject to find agreements concluded by the EU as part of its international responsibilities.
EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window
Access to, 1951 to present, the Official Journal of the European Union; EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation); preparatory documents (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers); EU case-law (judgments, orders); international agreements; EFTA documents and summaries of EU legislation.
Eurojust This link opens in a new window
The European Union Agency for Criminal Justice Cooperation. Information on judicial co-operation on organised crime in Europe.
Treaties Office Database of the European Commission This link opens in a new window
Free resource. Bilateral and multilateral treaties or agreements concluded by the EU the European Atomic Energy Community, and the former European Coal and Steel Community, and those concluded under the Treaty on European Union

Organisations

Asser Institute
An inter-university institute for public international law, private international law and European law policy research.

European Council On Refugees and Exiles This link opens in a new window
Legislation, proposals and informed comments on refugee and asylum law.

EU Trade Law

Competition: European Commission This link opens in a new window
Information on European Commission policy on competition.
Intellectual Property Helpdesk This link opens in a new window
Intellectual Property legal information for the EU and its member states.

Reference

Interactive Terminology for Europe (IATE)
EU's terminology database.
European Lawyer's Information eXchange and Internet Resource (ELIXIR)
Based at the University of Birmingham Law School contains information on the legal profession in the member states as well as EC law in general.