Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theses and dissertation: Finding an international thesis

International theses

There are also resources that will help you to locate overseas dissertations, however it is often more difficult to obtain the full text of non-UK theses as they are not always available through the British Library.

  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. Unlike many of our other resources it also contains some master's theses.
  • Dissertation Express allows you to buy copies of theses from the US and Canada.
  • Google Scholar can be a useful tool to identify potential resources.
  • DART-Europe E-Theses portal contains full text E-theses from 28 European countries.
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. This is where the (mainly American) authors have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free on the open Web. It is a fairly new service and should not be used as an exhaustive search.
  • Open Access Thesis and Dissertations (OATD) An index of over 2.7 million records of post-graduate thesis and dissertations from 43 countries.  OATD.org only searches thesis that are available via Open Access.
  • If you are unable to locate a specific thesis please contact the Research Support team on Tel: 01273 877941 (int 7941) or Email: library.researchsupport@sussex.ac.uk with the full details of your request.

Useful Links

Library Search

  • Browse SRO theses
  • EThOS
  • Copyright guide