LibGuides: Newspapers: Magazines and Periodicals

Magazines and Periodicals

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Combines collections from American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the 1860s. Includes over 65 consumer and trade magazines focusing on fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Issues are presented as searchable full-colour page images.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Country Life Archive 1897-2005 This link opens in a new window
An archive of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.
Education Magazine Archive, 1910-2015 This link opens in a new window
An archive of magazines in the field of education, aimed at teachers and other educational professionals, published between 1910 and 2015.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the key periodicals for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK popular and trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, theatre and video games are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. We have access to the following collections:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
EIMA4: Rock, Folk and Hip-hop
EIMA5: Video Gaming
GQ Archive This link opens in a new window
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the special collections of academic institutions. Materials produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archival runs of many of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community
Modernist Journals Project This link opens in a new window
A free resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, 1890 to 1922. Digital editions of culturally significant magazines, journals, essays, books and biographies.
Nation Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
150-year archive (1865-present) of reporting opinion and criticism. Primary source material including thousands of historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles in America and the world.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek)‎ (1918 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It's mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.
Oz Magazine This link opens in a new window
Access to the entire London run of the underground, subversive magazine.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of hundreds of journal archives. Database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas and multiple languages.
Picture Post This link opens in a new window
Complete archive from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957.
Punch Historical Archive 1841 to 1992 This link opens in a new window
Access to 150 years of Punch, the great satirical magazine
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index (1890-1982) of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines from the US including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. subject coverage includes: arts; business; computers; crafts; dance; drama; education; entertainment; fashion; film & television; food; gardening; health & medicine; home improvement; literature; news & current events; photography; popular & classical music; politics; popular culture; religion; sports & fitness; technology; transportation; travel.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Archive of music journalism covering all genres of popular music; 1950s to the present day. Articles, video interviews, concert and album reviews from major magazines and newspapers.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to present. Subjects include textiles and dress, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, photography and graphic design, marketing and advertising.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

Index

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index (1890-1982) of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines from the US including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. subject coverage includes: arts; business; computers; crafts; dance; drama; education; entertainment; fashion; film & television; food; gardening; health & medicine; home improvement; literature; news & current events; photography; popular & classical music; politics; popular culture; religion; sports & fitness; technology; transportation; travel.
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The International Federation of Film Archives' index of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating back to 1972. Also contains the FIAF's "Treasures from Film Archives"; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.