It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
The largest online collection of 18th and 19th century newspapers published in this region and provides a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. Covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Provides insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers. Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China.
A complete online, fully searchable facsimile, the Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016* delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue.
Times Higher Education (THE) provides analysis and insight on higher education.
In order to gain access, you'll need to register for a personal THE account, which you can then use to log in to the THE website and app. You must register using your full University of Sussex email address (i.e. use @sussex.ac.uk) so that your personal THE account is associated with the University's institutional subscription.
A comprehensive resource of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid 18th and 20th centuries. Supports research in History, Literature, Victorian Studies, Genealogy, Fine Arts, Finance/Economics, Political Science, and more. Access to parts 1-4, covering titles from 1732 to 1950.
The most comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, 3 million pages of historic newspapers, news books & ephemera, National & Regional papers from British Isles.
Access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Approx. 700 volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets collected by the Reverend Charles Burney. Mostly published in London, but includes English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers and a few from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Citations for articles from 45 monthly and quarterly periodicals of the Victorian era. In particular British Periodicals I and II. Subject areas, literature, history and Victorian life; politics, religion, women's writing, economics, art, science, archaeology and philosophy.
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Collections from American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).
Designed to provide a window into this uniquely American story. Series 15 contains 160 immigrant papers, many of which are considered the most important 19th-century publications of this genre. Complementing these and providing valuable context are traditional, general-interest newspapers published contemporaneously in those same cities or regions.
500,000 issues from more than 500 historical newspapers. Includes weeklies, dailies and historical significant newspapers. Key titles include the New York Herald, New York Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, Baltimore Sun, South Carolina City Gazette, Dallas Morning News, Kansas City Star, San Jose Mercury News.
The largest online collection of 19th-century U.S. newspapers from the American West. Approx. 2,500 titles published in all 24 states west of the Mississippi River, plus a number of titles published east of the Mississippi for valuable political and economic context.
150-year archive (1865-present) of reporting opinion and criticism. Primary source material including thousands of historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles in America and the world.
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations.