Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Statistics and datasets: UK Data Service

UK data service resources

The UK Data Service offers a single point of access to a wide range of economic and social data from the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS), Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others, including some international data sets. The UK Data Service has produced a guide on ways to get data which will help you access the data they hold.

UK Data Service

UK surveys

A range of UK survey data, addressing social attitudes, crime, health and lifestyle. Includes: Labour Force Survey, British Social Attitudes, National Food Survey and English Housing Survey.

Census data

The UKDS holds a range of different types of census data from 1971 to 2011. See the Census Support site for more information.

Longitudinal studies

The UKDS provides access to several key longitudinal studies, including major panel and internationally-renowned cohort studies. Includes: British Household Panel Survey, Millennium Cohort Study and National Child Development Study.

Business microdata

The UKDS holds a collection of business microdata, provided by the Office for National Statistics. Includes: UK Innovation Survey and Business Structure Database.

Qualitative /mixed methods

Non-numeric information, such as in-depth interview transcripts, diaries, anthropological field notes, answers to open-ended survey questions, audio-visual recordings and images. Includes: Family Life of Old People, Gender Difference, Anxiety and the Fear of Crime and Retail Competition And Consumer Choice.

Cross-national surveys

Cross-national surveys typically refer to studies where the same survey instrument is used across many nations. Includes: Eurobarometer Surveys, European Election Study and International Social Survey Programme. 

International macrodata

Major statistical publications produced by intergovernmental organisations such as the World Bank, International Monetary Fund or Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Administrative data

Data collected by government departments and agencies during their day-to-day activities.

 

UK Data Centres

Data previously made available by the ESDS, CASWEB and census data from Mimas and UKBORDERS data from Edina have been moved into the UK Data Service.

Using the UKDS

If you are new to using the UK Data Service, download this quick guide to help you find and access the data they hold

UK Data Archive

The UK Data Archive hosts and manages the UKDS, offering access to over 5,000 datasets. The UKDA also provides guidance and training on how to manage, store and share data.