Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Official publications: International Organisations

International organisations online

 A selection of websites from key intergovernmental organisations. These are a useful source of reports, profiles and statistics from across the globe.

  • African Union (AU) Access to information on individual member states, conferences and events, and documents including speeches, treaties and conventions.

  • Bank for International Settlements (BIS) BIS is an international organisation which encourages monetary and financial cooperation between nations. The site contains financial statistics and links to press releases, speeches and research papers.

  • Commonwealth Secretariat (CS) Information on the history of the Commonwealth, including full text of establishing declarations. Includes information on meetings and summits, human rights situations in Commonwealth nations and details of development projects in Africa and Asia

  • Council of Europe Contains information on the history and current activities of the Council, detailing its work to strengthen democracy and human rights throughout its member states. Access to policies, treaties, audiovisual materials and other documents.

  • European Court of Human Rights Access to key texts including the European Convention on Human Rights, details of recent judgments and their impact on individual countries, and lists of pending public hearings. Statistics relating to applications and judgments are also available.

  • European Environment Agency Includes information on a range of environmental issues faced by European member states, including air quality, climate change and ozone depletion

  • International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) Information on the role and work of the ICRC, including in-depth sections on International Humanitarian Law and focused sections on humanitarian issues such as landmines and the effects of war on women and children.

  • International Energy Agency (IEA) The IEA advises 27 countries on energy policies. The site contains reports, statistics and information on conferences, arranged by topic or by member country.

  • International Finance Corporation (IFC) IFC is a member of the World Bank Group and a source of loan and equity financing for private sector projects in the developing world. The site includes information arranged by sector and region and links to key publications.

  • International Food Policy Research Contains information on IFPRI’s aims, activities and research and links to relevant publications and datasets.

  • International Insitute for Environment and Development (IIED) IIED is an independent policy research institute which works towards sustainable and equitable global development. The site contains information on research and access to publications under the topics of natural resources, human settlements, governance, climate change and sustainable markets.

  • International Monetary Fund (IMF) Access to information on the IMF, including profiles of each member country and links to any related statements or working papers.

  • Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) The IDB finances sustainable economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. Access to information is arranged by topic or by region.

  • NATO Access to an online library including basic treaties and texts, the Nato handbook, and multimedia such as audio/video of speeches.

  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Information on the work of the OECD in a range of topics from agriculture to regulatory reform, including a range of documents such as policy reports, speeches and country guides.

  • Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) Contains detailed information on the work of OSCE in fields such as arms control and anti-trafficking, with access to publications including the OCSE magazine, annual reports and factsheets.

  • Organization of American States OAS works with its 35 member states to increase cooperation on political, economic and social issues in the Americas. Contains information and documents about the OAS, including annual report and transcripts of key speeches.

  • United Nations Historical and up to date information on the UN, including General Assembly documents, research guides and live webcasts of UN proceedings.

  • UN Archives The Archives and Records Management Section (ARMS) identifies, preserves and provides access to those records that document the history of the United Nations.

  • United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) Extensive information on UNESCO’s work by theme and by region. Access to a wide range of fulltext UNESCO documents, publications and periodicals since 1945.

  • UNICEF Contains annual reports, press releases, country profiles and statistics.

  • World Bank Extensive website covering information about the World Bank and guides to the countries and sectors supported by its work. Includes links to global statistics, information on research outputs and over 15,000 downloadable documents.

  • World Health Organisation (WHO) Provides access to information on health through country profiles, topic reports and statistics.

  • World Trade Organisation (WTO) Contains trade statistics and information on trade topics and world trade agreements.