Subject Guide Image
Click on the below links for each section
2: Research Company Activities
4: Research Financial Performance of companies
6: Research National Economic Data
7: Newspapers and Trade Publications
8: Reference, Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias
Find Company Information
Find information on:
- Name of company
- Location and contact information
- Corporate tree: parent company, headquarters, subsidiaries, branches
- Ownership – Location and status: public or private
- Company size: Number of employees, size of executive board
- Key financials - Turnover (operating revenue), total assets, profit margins
- Peer groups
- Orbis This link opens in a new window
Orbis is provides up to 10 years of comparable financial data for over 400 million public and private companies worldwide. Includes, company profiles, key financials, peer groups, company size, corporate ownership, stock and earnings estimates, debt and credit swaps, information on directors, managers and advisors, and news and deals. Features include: Custom reports, data analysis tools, data export, search alerts.
- Fame This link opens in a new window
Fame provides up to 20 years of financial data for over 15 million public and private companies in the UK and Ireland. Includes, company profiles, key financials, peer groups, company size, corporate ownership, stock data, directors and contacts, and news and. Features: Custom reports, data analysis tools, data export, search alerts.
- Bloomberg terminalsAccess available via the Business School in the Bloomberg Financial Markets Laboratory. Bloomberg terminals can be booked for up to two hours at a time.
Research company activities
Find Information on:
- Industry profiles
- Business size (revenue and number of employees)
- Products and services
- Media presence: advertising, social media, public relations
- Competitors
- SWOT Analysis (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats)
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowIn-depth coverage for over 3,040 publications, with more than 2,060 available in full text.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowA full-text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
- Fame This link opens in a new window
Fame provides up to 20 years of financial data for over 15 million public and private companies in the UK and Ireland. Includes, company profiles, key financials, peer groups, company size, corporate ownership, stock data, directors and contacts, and news and. Features: Custom reports, data analysis tools, data export, search alerts.
- Nexis This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
- Orbis This link opens in a new window
Orbis is provides up to 10 years of comparable financial data for over 400 million public and private companies worldwide. Includes, company profiles, key financials, peer groups, company size, corporate ownership, stock and earnings estimates, debt and credit swaps, information on directors, managers and advisors, and news and deals. Features include: Custom reports, data analysis tools, data export, search alerts.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowCombines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research
Find Industry Reports
Find Information on:
- Industry structure
- Industry performance
- Products and markets
- Key trends & outlook
- Market Research reports
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowProduces hundreds of reports into European, UK-specific and Chinese consumer markets every year. You will need to login to access Mintel.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowProvides international market intelligence on industries, countries and consumers.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAccess to statistical data from market and opinion research institutions and from business organisations and government institutions in English and German.
Research Financial Performance of Companies
Find information on:
- Company financials (e.g. income, balance sheet, cash flow)
- Equity pricing
- Dividend information
- Analysts’ reports
- Investments
- Financial strength
- Bloomberg terminalsAccess available via the Business School in the Bloomberg Financial Markets Laboratory. Bloomberg terminals can be booked for up to two hours at a time.
- Fame This link opens in a new window
Fame provides up to 20 years of financial data for over 15 million public and private companies in the UK and Ireland. Includes, company profiles, key financials, peer groups, company size, corporate ownership, stock data, directors and contacts, and news and. Features: Custom reports, data analysis tools, data export, search alerts.
- Orbis This link opens in a new window
Orbis is provides up to 10 years of comparable financial data for over 400 million public and private companies worldwide. Includes, company profiles, key financials, peer groups, company size, corporate ownership, stock and earnings estimates, debt and credit swaps, information on directors, managers and advisors, and news and deals. Features include: Custom reports, data analysis tools, data export, search alerts.
- Orbis M&A (formerly Zephyr) This link opens in a new windowProvides searching and analyzing intelligence on global mergers and acquisitions. Contains M&A, IPO, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors.
Find Case Studies
Find information on:
- Real-life scenarios faced by sectors and industries, managers and companies
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowA full-text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
- Case CentreCase studies by organisations on a range of subject areas.
- MIT Sloan Teaching Innovation Resources (MSTIR)Case studies on a range of topics including Accounting and Finance; Entrepreneurship; Leadership and Ethics; Operations Management; Strategy; Sustainability.
- Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new windowA discipline-wide digital collection of cases from 2016 to 2018 to support teaching and independent research. TUTORS: Please contact your library for an 'instructor verification code', in order to access the Teaching Notes..
Research National Economic Data
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new windowInformation and statistics on the countries of the world.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowPublications and datasets, from 1998 to present, released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF).
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowProvides international market intelligence on industries, countries and consumers.
- UN Comtrade This link opens in a new windowAccess to commodity trade data for all available countries and areas since 1962.
Newspapers and Trade Publications
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides access to numerous news and magazine sources. Includes, Newsweek and Time Magazine.
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowProvides essential news, comments, data and analysis for the global business community. Registration is required. Click on "sign in, then register an account. App also available from iOS and Android app stores.
- Nexis This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowCombines multiple ProQuest business information databases includes the Wall Street Journal.
- The EconomistFull text access from Jan 4, 1992 - present.
- Newspaper GuideTo see the full collection of newspaper resources available through the library visit our newspaper guide
Reference, Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias
Find information on:
- Key terms and concepts
- Introductory materials
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowA collection handbooks covering different subject areas. Provides introductions to key topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Economics and Finance ebooks Collection This link opens in a new windowEbooks on Behavioural Economics; Development, Growth and Environmental Econometrics; Economic History; Economic Systems; Financial Economics; History of Economic Thought; International Macro and Monetary Economics; Microeconomics; Public and Welfare and South and East Asia.
Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowA research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.