Online Resources for your subject area
Use the links on the right to search for journal articles and other information. We have listed the individual resources from our Electronic Library which are best suited to your research.
You can access these from anywhere with an internet connection, using your ITS username and password off campus.
QuickSearch and SubjectSearch
Don't forget you can search quickly and easily across a number of resources using QuickSearch and SubjectSearch.
Look at the Find Articles tab or go to the Electronic Library itself to do this.
Webcasts and helpsheets are available to help you with your searching.
Find a Medical journal article
- BioMed Central Journals This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
- Cochrane LibraryA collection of databases containing high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. Includes full-text systematic reviews and a register of controlled trials.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowA specialist international public health database for academics, researchers, public health practitioners, NGOs, policy makers, clinicians, healthcare professionals and students.
- Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new windowYou can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
- Medline This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database for biomedical literature covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAccess to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals. Developed by the NCBI in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science and social sciences such as economics, management and business.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural; Environmental Sciences.
- Visible Body This link opens in a new windowA 3D interactive anatomy visualization and education tool allowing students, faculty, clinicians or research scientists to explore the human body from head to toe via thousands of interactive anatomical structures.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Contact BSMS Librarians
Library Links
- Electronic LibraryThe Library's collection of online resources, including journals, newspapers, e-books and powerful search tools.