The Global Horizons journal is a space of representation and recognition, demonstrating the exemplary work produced by undergraduate Global Studies students at the University of Sussex.
Thematically, papers address, generate and disseminate knowledge concerning some of the most pressing global issues of our time – from global inequalities and justice, climate and environmental change, war and peace, and global health, to finance crises, intolerance, and discrimination. Inter-disciplinary by the nature of its diverse contributors, the journal reflects the pedagogical and methodological approach adopted by the School of Global Studies more broadly.
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Cultural Anthropology by ISBN: 9780191836688Publication Date: 2018Concise, authoritative definitions for a range of concepts relating to cultural anthropology, as well as important findings and intellectual figures in the field. Subjects include adaptation, kinship, scientific racism, and writing culture.
Key resources for Anthropology
The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.
- Anthropological Index Online (AIO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of journal articles and films held by the Anthropology Library at the British Museum, and the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI). Incorporating the former RAI library, the Anthropological Index Online (AIO) holds arounf 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) covering all areas of anthropology. It indexes nearly 800 journals, published in over 40 languages, on a continuing basis, with records dating from 1957 to the present.
Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Linguistics.
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
A full-text database developed by the American Anthropological Association containing over 250,000 articles from more than 35 anthropological journals, as well as news bulletins, monographs and book reviews.
- Ethnographic Video Online vol.1 This link opens in a new windowProvides a large and comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behaviour. Covers every region of the world and features hundreds of videos.
- Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others
Archives and Primary Sources
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 This link opens in a new window
A vast archive of material drawn from hundreds of international and local organizations, documenting important aspects of LGBTQ life from 1940 onwards. Documents include: records and materials produced by LGBTQ rights groups, government briefings, reports and policy statements, surveys and election questionnaires, international news and magazine articles, photographs, interviews and more.
- Frontier Life This link opens in a new windowA multi-archive collection which captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Covers various colonial frontiers of North America and the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the special collections of academic institutions. Materials produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowContains an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
- Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new windowAn archive for the study of Social History in the modern era. Access to the new online material, microfilm series, and physical and digital material in the archive itself.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new windowDocumenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
- Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive This link opens in a new windowContains a fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity.
- South Asia Archive This link opens in a new windowThe South Asia Archive provides an extensive resource for students and scholars across the humanities and social sciences.
Focusing on South Asia, the Archive contains both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications. - Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
Access to perspectives on women's experiences from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
- Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
- Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowDocuments women's activism in public life by bringing together books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents (including primary documents), scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, links to other websites, and other ephemera.
Multidisciplinary resources for Anthropology
- Alexander Street Press Video Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to a large number of videos across a wide range of subject areas. The University does not subscribe to all the content within the collection.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowAn online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Over 2.5 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters from 1951.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes: 34,000 research reports from more than 140 policy institutes on climate change, cybersecurity, energy policy, international relations, terrorism, and various public health issues. Primary sources from important and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Thematic collections focusing on emerging areas of research includes Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- Kanopy (now via Library Search) This link opens in a new windowYou can now look for Kanopy films using Library Search. The benefit of this is that it will also search across our other film collections, to make sure that you don't miss out. Simply enter your search terms and select 'Video' from the drop down list at the end of the Library Search bar.
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new windowExplores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowHigh quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.