Reference
- Cardiff Index to legal abbreviationsLaw Reports and Legal Journals are cited by their abbreviation rather than their full title. Series and Journals have official abbreviations but not all authors stick to these rigidly. If you are unsure of the meaning of an abbreviation then use one of the published lists of these abbreviations.
- Law Trove This link opens in a new windowOxford Law Trove facilitates a rounded and complete study of law. Its powerful search facility means you can delve deeper into your title, navigate more easily, and connect with additional resources in your own institution’s library collection. For the first time Law Trove enables you to search and interrogate the wealth of Oxford’s textbook law list.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Law ebooks Collection This link opens in a new windowEbooks on company & commercial law, competition law, constitutional and administrative law, criminal law & criminology, employment law, human rights law, public international law and more.
UK Case Law and Legislation
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowDatabase of legal materials from the UK, EU, US and other common law jurisdictions. Contains full-text case law and legislation, journal articles and law journals.
You will need to login to access Westlaw
- LexisLibrary This link opens in a new windowAccess to a variety of legal sources, including UK and EU case reports, legislation, legal journals and Halsbury´s Laws of England.
- BailiiComprehensive access to freely available British and Irish legal information from the British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) including transcripts from UK courts.
- Legislation.gov.uk This link opens in a new windowA collection of most of the UK's legislation with accompanying explanatory documents, delivered by The National Archives.
Journals
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowDatabase of legal materials from the UK, EU, US and other common law jurisdictions. Contains full-text case law and legislation, journal articles and law journals.
You will need to login to access Westlaw
- LexisLibrary This link opens in a new windowAccess to a variety of legal sources, including UK and EU case reports, legislation, legal journals and Halsbury´s Laws of England.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowContains over a thousand full-text law journals many of which are US titles. Also contains the English Reports 1220-1867; US law reports; US treaties and the US Supreme Court Library.
Newspapers
- Nexis This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines.
Parliamentary Papers: House of Commons / House of Lords
- UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowProvides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords.
- House of Lords Parliamentary Papers 1800-1910 This link opens in a new windowEnables researchers to explore the British perspective on historical and contemporary events through an archive of official government documents spanning three centuries.
- House of Lords UK Bills 1901-2005/6 This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the bills brought forward in the House of Lords
- House of Lords UK Parliamentary Papers 1901-2005/6 This link opens in a new windowHouse of Lords Parliamentary Papers encompass wide areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, providing evidence of committees and commissions during a time when the Lords in the United Kingdom wielded considerable power.
- Parliamentary publications and recordsBrowse the latest published Parliamentary papers, including transcripts of all debates in Hansard and all recent committee reports. View research material produced by the parliamentary libraries.You can also access older electronic papers where available or find out how to access the archives of the House of Lords and House of Commons.
UK Treaties
- UK Treaties OnlineAn official record of the UK's treaty obligations under international law and is sourced by Treaty Section of the Foreign & Commonwealth Office. UKTO gives access to information on over 14,000 treaties to which the UK is or has been a party with links to texts of command papers published in the UK Treaty Series from 1892.
Government Documents
- UK Government Publications Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the UK central government's publications, including command papers, act papers, policies and guidance.