This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Development Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Development Studies  

Last Updated: Aug 14, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.sussex.ac.uk/development_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating items in the Library

The video below explains how to locate items in the Library (click on the 'Full screen' button beneath the video to watch in a larger size):

 

Library Search

Search for books, articles, ebooks, databases, journal titles and other useful resources for your study and research, both online and in the library.


The shelfmark of a print book will help you to locate it in the Library. The shelfmarks run A-Z through the building, starting on the top floor. Find your reading lists here.

 

How to use Library Search

The video below explains how to use Library Search to find books (click on the 'Full screen' button to watch in a larger size):

Key Resources for Development Studies

The following databases contain a variety of material, including journal articles, for your specific subject area. The brief descriptions beneath the titles will explain what each hold. To access, click on the title.

  • ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
    ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
  • BLDS - British Library for Development Studies
    BLDS is a graduate research library. Undergraduate students are welcome to use BLDS for reference purposes and membership is freely available to UoS Postgraduate students. The BLDS collection contains over 1,000 journal titles (with a focus on Southern published titles); over 10,000 magazine, newspaper, annual report and newsletter titles; and over 80,000 monographs, including individual research reports, working papers and books.

  • CIA World Factbook
    Information and statistics on the countries of the world.
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
    International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
  • JSTOR
    Contains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences
  • JSTOR ebook Collections
    Provides access to a wide range of scholarly publications across a broad set of subject areas
  • Sage Research Methods Online
    SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
  • Scopus
    Includes the abstracts and cited references of over 16,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the sciences and social sciences. Scopus includes references of all articles published since 1996, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of articles available including Open Access and electronic-only titles. 20 million pre-1996 records captured without references go back as far as 1823.
  • Sustainable Organization Library (SOL)
    Contains more than 10,000 individually searchable chapters, case studies and journal papers drawn from more than 800 book and journal volumes, published by the leading independent sustainability publisher, Greenleaf Publishing, and a number of partner organizations.
  • Taylor and Francis ebooks
    Giving access to a wide range of titles across multiple subject areas.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Getting Help

Profile Image
Library Support
 

Contact Info
The Library
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QL
01273 877199
Send Email

Other Useful Guides

Copyright © University of Sussex [ edit ]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip