LibGuides: Development Studies: Academic Sources

Academic sources: Multidisciplinary Databases

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index and abstract database for the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education and related areas. Updated monthly, it provides records from over 500 scholarly journals dating back to 1987.
Subjects: Social Sciences, Education, Social Work, Healthcare
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A business database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry reports. With 4000 active indexed and abstracted journals and full text access for more than 1000 journal titles, it covers a wide range of subjects including business, management, economics, finance, accounting, and marketing. Users can explore case studies, company profiles, and market research reports.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
A specialist international public health database for researchers, public health practitioners, NGOs, policy makers, clinicians, healthcare professionals and students. Includes journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports and more, dating back to 1973.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
An online database that contains over six million bibliographic references. Dating back to 1951, these references include journal articles, books, newspapers, and dissertations. The subjects covered range from anthropology and economics to politics and sociology. Interdisciplinary subjects such as development studies, human geography, and gender studies are also included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes: 34,000 research reports from more than 140 policy institutes on climate change, cybersecurity, energy policy, international relations, terrorism, and various public health issues. Primary sources from important and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Thematic collections focusing on emerging areas of research includes Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
The South Asia Archive provides an extensive resource for students and scholars across the humanities and social sciences.
Focusing on South Asia, the Archive contains both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
High quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

Research Methods Resources

Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The University has access to the Core Collection and Sage Research Methods Cases.

Reference

Global Social Theory This link opens in a new window
This site is intended as a free resource for students, teachers, academics, and others interested in social theory and wishing to understand it in global perspective.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of handbooks covering different subject areas. Provides introductions to key topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias contain peer-reviewed, long-form overview articles written and edited by leading scholars. The Encyclopedias are intended to be regularly updated, with new articles and topics being added and authors updating their existing articles.
Statesman's Yearbook 1864-2004 This link opens in a new window
Provides accurate and comprehensive information on the current, political, economic and social status of every country in the world.

eBook Collections

Oxford Scholarship Online Political Science ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on American politics, European Union, international relations, political economy and Russian politics.