Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sussex Library Search Skills Guide

What is Library Search?

library search search bar

Library Search is the search and discovery tool of the major collections available through the University of Sussex Library. With Library Search you can find print books, ebooks, journals, articles, digital media and other types of resources. Library Search searches our books and journals, content available through the Library’s databases, and a huge index of article-level content (from ejournals, conferences, newspapers and more). Take a look at the FAQs below, or view our Library Search video guides to learn more. 

Does Library Search search all resources?

online resources A-Z icon from library website

Although Library Search does search across most of our resources, it doesn't search every specialist database we have access to. There are some particular subjects, such as Business or Law, where it is better to search the specialist subject-specific resources found in the Online Resources A-Z link on the library homepage.

Special Collections

The University’s Special Collections of archives, manuscripts and rare books can be searched via The Keep’s website.

How do I filter my search results

You can refine your search results using the filter options available on the left hand side of the page. Applying filters to your results can help to remove irrelevant resources.

You can select multiple filters simultaneously. You can also exclude results that meet certain filter criteria; to do this, hover your mouse over the filter text and selecting the red tick icon when it appears. Once it's selected, Library Search will remove any results that fall into your selected filter category. 

There are a number of filters available, including:

screenshot of library search item type filter

  • Item Type 

  • Author 

  • Creation Date

  • Availability

  • Subject

  • Journal Title

  • Language

  • Collection

  • Library 

  • Sort By

Note: When you make changes to your search words or run a new search your selected filters will refresh automatically. To "lock" your filters in for the duration of a search session hover over the applied filter and click on the padlock icon. 

How do I find out if an item is available?

When you click into a particular record, you will see details of the availability and number of copies displayed under the 'Get It' heading.

screenshot of Library Search request button

How do I sign-in to Library Search?

Library Search screenshot of the sign in buttonThere are many benefits to signing in to your Library Search account. Signing-in will allow you to save individual results and searches, place requests on unavailable items, place an inter-library loan request, and gain access to full-text materials.

To sign-in, simply click on the "sign-in" button in the top right hand corner of the Library Search homepage.

You will be prompted to input your Sussex username and password.

When signed in successfully, your name will appear in the right hand corner of the screen. 

How do I reserve / request an item?

screenshot of Library Search request button Once signed in, click 'Request' in the 'Request Options' tab; you will be prompted to add any comments to your request if necessary.

Click 'Request' in the right hand corner one final time to place the request.

How do I save items for future use?

Screenshot of Library Search's pinning icon

You will need to be signed-in to your library account to save items for future use. Click on the "pin" icon next to an item record in your results list. This will “pin” the item to your library account for future use.  

How do I place an interlibrary loan request?

First check Library Search to ensure that the item you require is not already in stock or available electronically before requesting. If you find an item on a database that the library does not currently have access to, you can place an interlibrary loan request, by clicking on "place an interlibrary loan request" (see screenshot). 

You will need to be signed-in to your library account to place a loan request. Please provide the full bibliographic details for the item you are requesting in the request form, as this will speed up your request.

You can also place an interlibrary loan via the "find and request books" button on the Library homepage. 

For article requests supplied by the British Library, we will deliver the article direct to your email account using their Secure Electronic Delivery service, unless you select an alternative option on the request form.  

Where desktop delivery is not possible, we will provide a paper copy for collection from the Info Hub in the Library. 

Please read and agree to the terms of the copyright declaration by ticking the check box, before submitting your request.

How can I send references to referencing tools like Zotero?

screenshot of Library Search's citation icon

Click on the quote marks icon next to an item record in your results list.

Select the citation file type that best suits your referencing tool from the options that appear in the pop-up window. 

Import the downloaded file into your referencing software library.