Use this guide to find key resources for English Literature and Language research.
Start with University of Sussex's Library Search – It searches across all subjects and includes the university’s collections and subscriptions.
For deeper research, explore the subject-specific databases and tools listed here. The best resource to use depends on your topic, the type of sources you need, and your stage in the research process.
This page highlights the key research databases recommended for English. See other pages for further resources, including subject-specific dictionaries, corpora, news and archives of historical texts.
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes research reports over 140 policy institutes on climate change, cybersecurity, energy policy, international relations, terrorism, and various public health issues. Primary sources are drawn from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Thematic collections focusing on emerging areas of research includes Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
An cross-searchable full-text database of poetry, prose, and drama in English, dating back to the 8th century. Includes literary criticism, author biographies, reference works, and academic journals. Subjects: literary studies, linguistics, and cultural history.
A comprehensive literary database offering over 500,000 primary texts, including poetry, prose, and drama by influential and lesser-known authors from around the world. It features contemporary and historical criticism, reference works, full-text journals, ebooks, dissertations, and multimedia resources like performances and author interviews. Explore global literature through curated collections, engaging with diverse perspectives and voices. With content spanning traditional and emerging areas of literary studies.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.