Displays

Enrich each day with wisdom from our greatest spiritual thinkers. Through brief daily readings and reflections, the 30-Day Journey series invites readers to be inspired and transformed. By devoting a moment to meaningful reflection and spiritual growth, readers will find deeper understanding of themselves and the world, one day at a time St. Hildegard of Bingen was a visionary mystic, a spiritual leader, and a woman ahead of her time. Whether you love St. Hildegard or are encountering her for the first time, this journey provides the perfect way to engage the thought of a compelling twelfth-century saint.

Completed in 1173, The Book of Divine Works (Liber Divinorum Operum) is the culmination of the Visionary's Doctor's theological project, offered here for the first time in a complete and scholarly English translation. The first part explores the intricate physical and spiritual relationships between the cosmos and the human person, with the famous image of the universal Man standing astride the cosmic spheres. The second part examines the rewards for virtue and the punishments for vice, mapped onto a geography of purgatory, hellmouth, and the road to the heavenly city. At the end of each Hildegard writes extensive commentaries on the Prologue to John's Gospel (Part 1) and the first chapter of Genesis (Part 2)--the only premodern woman to have done so. Finally, the third part tells the history of salvation, imagined as the City of God standing next to the mountain of God's foreknowledge, with Divine Love reigning over all.

This volume provides an introduction to Hildegard and her works, with a focus on the historical, literary, and religious context of the seer's writings and music. Its essays explore the cultural milieu that informs Hildegard's life and various compositions, and examine understudied aspects of the magistra's oeuvre, such as the interconnections among her works. A Companion to Hildegard of Bingen builds on earlier studies and presents to an English-speaking audience various facets of the seer's historical persona and her cultural significance, so that the reader can grasp and appreciate the scope of the unparalleled life and contributions of Hildegard, who was declared to be a saint and a doctor of the Church in 2012. Contributors include: Michael Embach, Margot E. Fassler, Franz J. Felten, George Ferzoco, William T. Flynn, Felix Heinzer, Beverly Mayne Kienzle, Tova Leigh-Choate, Constant J. Mews, Susanne Ruge, Travis A. Stevens, Debra L. Stoudt, and Justin A. Stover.

Faszinierende Ansichten einer Frau, die ihrer Zeit weit voraus r: Hildegard von Bingen war eine der bekanntesten Frauen des Mittelalters. Sie war Dichterin und Philosophin, Prophetin und Heilige, Beraterin und Universalgelehrte. Poetische Visionen waren ihr Weg, sich an ffentlichen Diskussionen zu Religion und Weltgeschehen zu beteiligen, ohne als Frau wegen Anmaung bestraft zu werden. Sie gehren bis heute zu den bedeutendsten verbliebenen Zeitdokumenten.

Green Mass is a meditation on—and with—twelfth-century Christian mystic and polymath Saint Hildegard of Bingen. Attending to Hildegard's vegetal vision, which greens theological tradition and imbues plant life with spirit, philosopher Michael Marder uncovers a verdant mode of thinking. The book stages a fresh encounter between present-day and premodern concerns, ecology and theology, philosophy and mysticism, the material and the spiritual, in word and sound. Hildegard's lush notion of viriditas , the vegetal power of creation, is emblematic of her deeply entwined understanding of physical reality and spiritual elevation. From blossoming flora to burning desert, Marder plays with the symphonic multiplicity of meanings in her thought, listening to the resonances between the ardency of holy fire and the aridity of a world aflame. Across Hildegard's cosmos, we hear the anarchic proliferation of her ecological theology, in which both God and greening are circular, without beginning or end. Introduced with a foreword by philosopher Marcia Sá Cavalcante Schuback and accompanied by cellist Peter Schuback's musical movements, which echo both Hildegard's own compositions and key themes in each chapter of the book, this multifaceted work creates a resonance chamber, in which to discover the living world anew. The original compositions accompanying each chapter are available free for streaming and for download at www.sup.org/greenmass.

A Renaissance woman long before the Renaissance, the visionary Hildegard of Bingen (1098-1179) corresponded with Europe's elite, founded and led a noted women's religious community, and wrote on topics ranging from theology to natural history. Yet we know her best as Western music's most accomplished early composer, responsible for a wealth of musical creations for her fellow monastics. Honey Meconi draws on her own experience as a scholar and performer of Hildegard's music to explore the life and work of this foundational figure. Combining historical detail with musical analysis, Meconi delves into Hildegard's mastery of plainchant, her innovative musical drama, and her voluminous writings. Hildegard's distinctive musical style still excites modern listeners through wide-ranging, sinuous melodies set to her own evocative poetry. Together with her passionate religious texts, her music reveals a holistic understanding of the medieval world still relevant to today's readers.

Hildegard of Bingen (1098-1179) continues to be the subject of popular and scholarly interest. Sabina Flanagan provides an introduction to the life and works of the visionary, mystic, poet, musician, naturalist, healer and theologian that was Hildegard of Bingen. This edition includes: a new preface; additions to the biographical sections, revealing discoveries about Hildegard's life; updated references to recent critical material on Hildegard's writings; and a new bibliography and discography.

The first of a projected four-volume set, this is the first translation into English of the correspondence of one of the most remarkable women of pre-modern times.

This is the second volume in what will be a translation with full scholarly apparatus of the entire correspondence of St. Hildegard of Bingen (1098-1179). The translation follows Van Acker's definitive new edition of the Latin text, which is being published serially in Belgium by Brepols. As in that edition, the letters are organized according to the rank of the addressees. The first volume included ninety letters to and from the highest ranking prelates in Hildegard's world: popes, archbishops, and bishops. Volume II comprises letters 91-217, in which Hildegard addresses lower-ranking spiritual leaders (abbots and abbesses, for the most part) offering advice and consolation, and is particularly noteworthy for the correspondence with Guilbert of Gembloux, who provides a wealth of information about the saint and her spiritual gift.

With over 300 quotations, this book invites the reader to delve into the writings of the great contemplatives and mystics of the past two thousand years. The Little Book of Christian Mysticism provides a user-friendly, insightful, and potentially life-changing introduction to the essential teachings of the greatest mystics in the western wisdom traditions, past and present, including Francis of Assisi, Hildegard of Bingen, Thomas Merton, Evelyn Underhill, Meister Eckhart, Teresa of Avila, John of the Cross, and Julian of Norwich. Readers can use this book to initiate themselves into this visionary and ecstatic spiritual lineage, and they can also use it as a book of daily meditations. Small enough to fit in one's pocket or handbag, this is truly a user-friendly introduction to this venerable body of wisdom.

Fresh and innovative takes on the dissemination of music in manuscript, print, and, now, electronic formats, revealing how the world has experienced music from the sixteenth century to the present. This collection of essays examines the diverse ways in which music and ideas about music have been disseminated in print and other media from the sixteenth century onward. Contributors look afresh at unfamiliar facets of the sixteenth-century book trade and the circulation of manuscript and printed music in the seventeenth to nineteenth centuries. They also analyze and critique new media forms, showing how a dizzying array of changing technologies has influenced what we hear, whom we hear, and how we hear. The repertoires considered include Western art music -- from medieval to contemporary -- as well as popular music and jazz. Assembling contributions from experts in a wide range of fields, such as musicology, music theory, music history, and jazz and popular music studies, Music in Print and Beyond: Hildegard von Bingen to The Beatles sets new standards for the discussion of music's place in Western cultural life. Contributors: Joseph Auner, Bonnie J. Blackburn, Gabriela Cruz, Bonnie Gordon, Ellen T. Harris, Lewis Lockwood, Paul S. Machlin, Roberta Montemorra Marvin, Honey Meconi, Craig A. Monson, Kate van Orden, Sousan L. Youens. Roberta Montemorra Marvin teaches at the University of Iowa and is the author of Verdi the Student -- Verdi the Teacher (Istituto Nazionale di Studi Verdiani, 2010) and editor of The Cambridge Verdi Encyclopedia (Cambridge University Press, 2013). Craig A. Monson is Professor of Musicology at Washington University (St Louis, Missouri) and is the author of Divas in the Convent: Nuns, Music, and Defiance in Seventeenth-Century Italy (University of Chicago Press, 2012).

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

Crossing linguistic and historical boundaries, Patricia Dailey connects the embodied poetics of Hadewijch of Brabant's visions, writings, and letters to the work of Julian of Norwich, Hildegard of Bingen, Marguerite of Oingt, and other mystics and visionaries.

A unique glimpse into the mind of the 12-century visionaryHildegardofBingenthrough her"creative and insightful"writings on medicine, spirituality, and more (Booklist) Visionary, mystic, poet, musician, naturalist, healer, theologian-the Rhineland nunHildegardofBingen(1098-1179) was a Renaissance woman longbefore there was a Renaissance. This is the first book in English to offer a representative selection of writings from all of her amazing range of work. Hildegardwrote many volumes on subjects from mystical vision to sexuality, from theology to natural medicine-in letters, treatises, poetry, and songs-all in an age when few women wrote more than an occasional letter. She was a woman of extraordinary influence whose work not only surpassed that of her male contemporaries in its range, but also outshone them in visionary beauty and intellectual power. This collection includes a brief biography ofHildegard, and selections from the following works- .Scivias (literally, "know the ways"), the record ofHildegard'svisions and her commentary on them . The Book of Life's Merits, visionary work . The Book of Divine Works, a work of cosmology and anthropology . Natural History, a record of plants, animals, and minerals, translated here into English for the first time . Causes and Cures, a compendium of her writing on natural medicine . Symphonia, her songs and poetry . Biographical works . Selected letters

For this revised edition of Hildegard's liturgical song cycle, Barbara Newman has redone her prose translations of the songs, updated the bibliography and discography, and made other minor changes. Also included is an essay by Marianne Richert Pfau...

Hildegard of Bingen (1098-1179) would have been an extraordinary person in any age. But for a woman of the twelfth century her achievements were so exceptional that posterity has found it hard to take her measure. Barbara Newman, a premier Hildegard authority, brings major scholars together to present an accurate portrait of the Benedictine nun and her many contributions to twelfth-century religious, cultural, and intellectual life. Written by specialists in fields ranging from medieval theology to medicine to music, these essays offer an understanding of how one woman could transform so many of the traditions of the world in which she lived. Hildegard of Bingen was the only woman of her age accepted as an authoritative voice on Christian doctrine as well as the first woman permitted by the pope to write theological books. She was the author of the first known morality play; an artist of unusual talents; the most prolific chant composer of her era; and the first woman to write extensively on natural science and medicine, including sexuality as seen from a female perspective. She was the only woman of her time to preach openly to mixed audiences of clergy and laity, and the first saint whose biography includes a first-person memoir. Adding to the significance of this volume is the fact that Hildegard's oeuvre reflects the entire sweep of twelfth-century culture and society. Scholars and lay readers alike will find this collection a rich introduction to a remarkable figure and to her tumultuous world. With the commemoration of the 900th anniversary of Hildegard's birth in September 1998, the publication of Voice of the Living Light is especially welcome. Hildegard of Bingen (1098-1179) would have been an extraordinary person in any age. But for a woman of the twelfth century her achievements were so exceptional that posterity has found it hard to take her measure. Barbara Newman, a premier Hildegard autho

In Women, Men, and Spiritual Power, John Coakley explores male-authored narratives of the lives of Catherine of Siena, Hildegard of Bingen, Angela of Foligno, and six other female prophets or mystics of the late Middle Ages. His readings reveal the complex personal and literary relationships between these women and the clerics who wrote about them. Coakley's work also undermines simplistic characterizations of male control over women, offering an important contribution to medieval religious history. Coakley shows that these male-female relationships were marked by a funda.

Das gegenwärtig erst im Aufbau begriffene Untersuchungsfeld einer Theologie des Lebens bedarf einer Erforschung von Marksteinen in der Deutung des Johannesevangeliums. Dabei ist eine grundlegende Erfordernis für eine systematisch-theologische Interpretation des Werkes von Hildegard von Bingen eine dichte Bezugnahme auf die lateinischen Originaltexte. Daher stellt diese Arbeit eine Methodologie für eine vorrangig textimmanente Analyse ausgewählter visiones der Hildegard vor. Dementsprechend werden je vier visiones aus dem Liber Scivias und aus dem Liber Divinorum Operum detailliert nach formalen und stilistischen Kriterien untersucht, um sodann jeweils den theologischen Gehalt der Bildsprachlichkeit für eine Theologie des Lebens zu erheben. Dabei erweist sich der Begriff des Lebens als ein theologischer Knotenpunkt, auf den die Gedankengänge von Erkenntnistheorie, Trinitäslehre, Schöpfungslehre, Gnadenlehre, Soteriologie und Ekklesiologie zulaufen. Die Ergebnisse der Einzeluntersuchungen werden in einem dritten Schritt in eine innovative Systematisierung das ideengeschichtliche Spielfeldes für den Begriff des Lebens von der Antike bis zu Hildegard eingeordnet, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Eriugena-Rezeption.