LibGuides: Displays: Alan Turing

Alan Turing

Alan Turing (1912–1954) was a pioneering mathematician, logician, and computer scientist, widely regarded as the father of modern computing. During World War II, his ground-breaking work at Bletchley Park played a crucial role in decrypting the Enigma machine, significantly aiding the Allied victory. Turing's visionary contributions, including the concept of the Turing Machine, laid the foundation for artificial intelligence and modern computer science. Despite his brilliance, Turing faced persecution for his homosexuality, a tragic chapter that has since been recognized and redressed. His legacy endures as a symbol of innovation, resilience, and the profound impact of scientific genius on society.

Books

Secret days : code-breaking in Bletchley Park by Asa Briggs
Call Number: D 810.C88 BRI

ISBN: 9781848326156

Publication Date: 2011

This memoir offers a firsthand account of life at Bletchley Park during World War II, detailing the critical work of codebreaking and its impact on the Allied war effort. Filled with personal insights and historical context, it provides a vivid glimpse into the secretive world of cryptography and intelligence.
Affect and Artificial Intelligence by Elizabeth A. Wilson
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9780295800004

Publication Date: 2011-03-01

This innovative work explores the emotional dimensions of artificial intelligence, tracing its conceptual roots back to pioneers like Alan Turing. Examining how affect shapes the design, function, and interpretation of AI systems, it bridges psychology, technology, and philosophy, offering a fresh perspective on the interplay between human emotions and machine intelligence.
Alan Turing : his work and impact by S. Barry Cooper (Editor); J. van Leeuwen (Editor)
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9780123870124

Publication Date: 2013-03-18

This comprehensive volume explores Alan Turing's groundbreaking contributions to mathematics, computing, and artificial intelligence, alongside their profound influence on modern science and society. Featuring essays by leading experts, it examines his work’s technical brilliance, historical context, and enduring legacy across diverse fields.
Alan Turing: the Enigma by Andrew Hodges (Preface by); Douglas Hofstadter (Foreword by)
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9781400865123

Publication Date: 2014-11-10

This definitive biography delves into the life and work of Alan Turing, the brilliant mathematician whose codebreaking efforts were pivotal during World War II. It explores his pioneering contributions to computing and artificial intelligence, as well as the personal struggles he faced in a society that condemned his identity. A profound exploration of genius, resilience, and legacy.
Breaking Teleprinter Ciphers at Bletchley Park by James A. Reeds (Editor); Whitfield Diffie (Editor); J. V. Field (Editor)
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 1119061601

Publication Date: 2015-05-29

This fascinating account explores the efforts at Bletchley Park to break teleprinter ciphers during World War II, uncovering the innovative techniques and teamwork that contributed to Allied success. It provides a detailed look at the intersection of mathematics, engineering, and cryptography in one of history’s most pivotal intelligence operations.
Mathematical Logic by Alan Turing; edited by R.O. Gandy and C.E.M. Yates
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9780444504234

Publication Date: 2001-12-05

This collection presents Alan Turing's significant contributions to mathematical logic, highlighting his profound impact on the foundations of mathematics and theoretical computer science. Edited with expert commentary, it provides valuable insights into Turing’s groundbreaking work and its enduring relevance in the field.
The Turing Test by Stuart M. Shieber (Editor)
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9780262256971

Publication Date: 2004-06-18

This collection explores the philosophical, scientific, and practical implications of the Turing Test, examining its role as a measure of machine intelligence. Featuring essays from leading thinkers, it delves into the test’s historical context, critiques, and relevance in the ongoing development of artificial intelligence.
The man who knew too much : Alan Turing and the invention of the computer by David Leavitt
Call Number: Q 50 LEA

ISBN: 9780753822005

Publication Date: 2007

This compelling biography explores the life and work of Alan Turing, focusing on his groundbreaking contributions to the invention of the modern computer. It delves into his achievements in mathematics and cryptography while also shedding light on his personal struggles, offering a nuanced portrait of a genius who shaped the future of technology.
The imitation game : Alan Turing decoded by Jim Ottaviani; Leland Purvis (Illustrator)
Call Number: Q 50 OTT

ISBN: 9781419736452

Publication Date: 2019-07-09

This graphic novel brings Alan Turing’s extraordinary life and achievements to vivid life, from his pioneering work in mathematics and cryptography to his contributions to computing and artificial intelligence. It also sensitively portrays the personal struggles he faced, offering an accessible and compelling tribute to a remarkable genius.
Alan M. Turing by Sara Turing; John F. Turing (Afterword by); Lyn Irvine (Foreword by); Martin Davis (Foreword by)
Call Number: Q 50 TUR

ISBN: 9781107020580

Publication Date: 2012-03-22

This compelling biography, written by Alan Turing's mother, provides a personal and intimate portrait of the brilliant mathematician and father of modern computing. It sheds light on his groundbreaking work, personal life, and the challenges he faced, offering unique insights into the man behind the genius and his lasting legacy.
Alan Turing : the life of a genius by Dermot Turing
Call Number: Q 50 TUR

ISBN: 9781841657561

Publication Date: 2017-09-01

This engaging biography offers a detailed look at Alan Turing’s extraordinary life, from his groundbreaking work in mathematics and codebreaking during World War II to his foundational contributions to computing. Written with unique personal insight, it also explores the challenges he faced, shedding light on the man behind the genius and his lasting impact on the modern world.
The Essential Turing by Alan M. Turing; B. Jack Copeland (Editor)
Call Number: Q 50 TUR

ISBN: 9780198250807

Publication Date: 2004-11-18

This comprehensive collection presents Alan Turing’s most influential works, spanning his groundbreaking theories on computation, artificial intelligence, and cryptography. Accompanied by expert commentary, it offers a deep understanding of Turing’s genius and the enduring significance of his contributions to science and technology.
Mechanical Intelligence by Alan Mathison Turing ; edited by D. Ince.
Call Number: Q 50 TUR

ISBN: 9780444880581

Publication Date: 1992-01-30

This volume compiles Alan Turing's groundbreaking papers on artificial intelligence and machine learning, offering a deep dive into his visionary ideas about the potential of machines to simulate human thought. Expertly edited, it showcases Turing's pioneering contributions to the development of modern computing and AI.
Reflections of Alan Turing by Dermot Turing
Call Number: Q 50 TUR

ISBN: 9781803990125

Publication Date: 2023-05-23

This insightful work offers a personal and reflective look at Alan Turing’s life, achievements, and legacy. Drawing on unique perspectives, it explores his groundbreaking contributions to mathematics, computing, and cryptography, as well as the challenges he faced, providing a nuanced portrait of a remarkable and complex figure.
Computability : Turing, Gödel, Church, and beyond by B. Jack Copeland (Editor); Carl J. Posy (Editor); Oron Shagrir (Editor)
Call Number: Q 750 COM

ISBN: 9780262018999

Publication Date: 2013-06-07

This collection examines the foundational ideas of computability developed by Turing, Gödel, and Church, exploring their lasting impact on mathematics, computer science, and philosophy. Featuring insights from leading scholars, it delves into the theoretical and practical implications of their work, offering a comprehensive perspective on the evolution of computation and its role in modern thought.
The Annotated Turing by Charles Petzold
Call Number: QE 1350 PET

ISBN: 9780470229057

Publication Date: 2008-06-16

This illuminating work offers a detailed analysis of Alan Turing’s groundbreaking 1936 paper that laid the foundation for computer science. By breaking down complex concepts and providing historical context, it makes Turing’s ideas accessible while highlighting their profound impact on technology and modern thought. A must-read for those interested in the origins of computing.
Computing with quantum cats : from Alan Turing to teleportation by John Gribbin
Call Number: QE 1400 GRI

ISBN: 9780552779319

Publication Date: 2014

This fascinating book explores the intersection of quantum physics and computing, tracing the journey from Alan Turing’s pioneering ideas to the revolutionary potential of quantum computing. It unpacks complex concepts like superposition and teleportation, offering a compelling look at how quantum mechanics is shaping the future of technology.
The legacy of Alan Turing. V. 2, Connectionism, concepts, and folk psychology by Andy Clark (Editor); Peter Millican (Editor)
Call Number: QZ 1250 CON

ISBN: 9780198235941

Publication Date: 1997-02-13

This volume explores the far-reaching influence of Alan Turing’s ideas on connectionism, cognitive science, and folk psychology. Featuring essays by leading thinkers, it examines how Turing’s work continues to shape our understanding of mind, intelligence, and the intersection of technology and philosophy.
Machines and Thought by Peter Millican (Editor); Andy Clark (Editor)
Call Number: QZ 1250 MAC

ISBN: 9780198235934

Publication Date: 1997-02-13

This insightful collection delves into the philosophical and computational foundations of artificial intelligence, exploring key questions about the nature of thought, consciousness, and machine intelligence. Combining perspectives from leading experts, it offers a rich examination of the interplay between technology and human cognition.

Articles

Alan Turing: Artificial intelligence as human self-knowledge
Guo, Ting
Anthropology today, 2015-12, Vol.31 (6), p.3-7

This article explores the life and ideas of Alan Turing (1912–1954), commonly known as the father of artificial intelligence (AI), and highlights the process whereby the human self is reconceptualized in the development of Turing's ideas of machine intelligence.
Alan Turing and the Foundations of Computable Analysis
Gherardi, Guido
The bulletin of symbolic logic, 2011-09, Vol.17 (3), p.394-430

We investigate Turing's contributions to computability theory for real numbers and real functions presented in [22, 24, 26]. In particular, it is shown how two fundamental approaches to computable analysis, the so-called 'Type-2 Theory of Effectivity' (TTE) and the 'realRAM machine' model, have their foundations in Turing's work, in spite of the two incompatible notions of computability they involve. It is also shown, by contrast, how the modern conceptual tools provided by these two paradigms allow a systematic interpretation of Turing's pioneering work in the subject.
Alan Turing and the origins of complexity
Martin-Delgado, Miguel Angel
Arbor, 2013-12, Vol.189 (764), p.a083

Explores Turing’s foundational contributions to the study of complex systems and patterns. It delves into his groundbreaking work on morphogenesis, where he used mathematical models to explain how natural patterns like stripes and spirals emerge in biological organisms. By examining Turing's theories and their relevance to modern computational and biological sciences, the article highlights his role in shaping our understanding of complexity, linking his legacy to contemporary studies in systems biology, artificial intelligence, and beyond.
From breaking to faking the code: Alan Turing’s Imitation Game latest upgrade for discerning Artificial Intelligence (AI)-generated deepfakes
Angelides, Marios C.
Computer journal, 2024-08

Alan Turing developed a simple test for verifying whether machine or man. He did this with a vision that was decades ahead of the time but with the technology that was available to him at the time. Back in the time, the notion of AI was a future prospect, and not a real threat in any way to humanity. Roll the clock forward to today and AI is not a prospect but a stark reality and the threat to humanity, according to the sceptics, all but real. But how serious has the threat become? This paper investigates.
Human Without Qualities: Or, can Alan Turing help us to acknowledge androids?
Abrioux, Yves
European journal of English studies, 2014-05, Vol.18 (2), p.135-157

Explores the philosophical and ethical implications of Alan Turing's work for understanding artificial beings. It examines Turing’s theories, particularly the Turing Test, as a framework for questioning what it means to be human and how we might recognize androids as entities with agency or qualities deserving acknowledgment. The article likely engages with debates about consciousness, identity, and the boundaries between humans and machines, challenging traditional notions of humanity in an age of advanced AI and robotics.
The mathematics of nature at the Alan Turing centenary
Cooper, S. Barry
Maini, Philip K.
Interface focus, 2012-08, Vol.2 (4), p.393-396

Celebrates Turing's contributions to understanding the mathematical principles underlying natural phenomena. It focuses on his work in morphogenesis, where he applied mathematical models to explain how patterns like spots, stripes, and spirals emerge in biological systems. Published during the centenary of his birth, the article reflects on the enduring impact of Turing's insights on modern science, particularly in fields such as biology, computational modeling, and complex systems analysis.
Queer History Queer Memory: The Case of Alan Turing
Doan, Laura
GLQ, 2017, Vol.23 (1), p.113-136

This article explores the intersection of queer identity, historical memory, and public commemoration, focusing on the life and legacy of Alan Turing. It examines how Turing’s contributions to science and his persecution as a gay man have been remembered and reframed in both historical and cultural narratives. The article likely discusses the challenges of integrating queer histories into mainstream historical discourse and how Turing’s story has become emblematic of broader struggles for LGBTQ+ recognition and justice.
Thinking Like a Machine: Alan Turing, Computation and the Praxeological Foundations of AI
Saha, Dipanjan
Brooker, Phillip
Mair, Michael
Reeves, Stuart
Science & technology studies (Tampere, Finland), 2024-01, Vol.37 (2), p.66

Examines Alan Turing's pivotal contributions to the development of artificial intelligence and computational theory. It explores Turing's conceptualization of machine thinking, his landmark work on the Turing Machine, and the philosophical and practical underpinnings of AI rooted in his ideas. The article likely investigates how Turing’s theories bridge mathematical logic and human cognition, providing a praxeological (practice-oriented) framework that continues to influence AI research and its ethical implications.