LibGuides: Displays: Autism Acceptance Month

Autism Acceptance Month

Autism Acceptance Month, observed every April, is dedicated to fostering understanding, inclusion, and acceptance of individuals on the autism spectrum. Moving beyond awareness, this month emphasizes celebrating neurodiversity, challenging stereotypes, and advocating for equal opportunities and support for autistic individuals. It encourages communities to embrace the strengths and unique perspectives that autism brings, while addressing the barriers that hinder full participation in society. Through events, education, and storytelling, Autism Acceptance Month promotes a world where everyone is valued and respected for who they are.

Books

Autism by Efrosini Kalyva
Call Number: LX 41000 KAL

ISBN: 9780857024893

Publication Date: 2011-05-17

An insightful exploration of autism, this book provides a thorough overview of the condition, its characteristics, diagnosis, and treatment. Drawing on the latest research, it offers practical guidance for understanding autism and supporting individuals on the spectrum in various settings.
Autism and Mental Well-Being in Higher Education 2nd Edition by Susy Ridout
Call Number: LX 41000 RID

ISBN: 9781913414016

Publication Date: 2020-03-13

A valuable resource for understanding the unique challenges faced by autistic students in higher education, this book explores strategies for supporting mental well-being and academic success. It offers practical advice for creating inclusive environments that foster both personal and academic growth for neurodiverse students.
The Metamorphosis of Autism by Bonnie Evans
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9780719095924

Publication Date: 2017-02-21

An insightful exploration of how autism has been understood and diagnosed over time, this work examines the shifting perceptions and medical interpretations of the condition. It critically analyzes the cultural and scientific factors that have influenced how autism is viewed and treated, shedding light on the implications for those on the spectrum.
See It Feelingly by Ralph James Savarese
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9781478001300

Publication Date: 2018-10-26

This compelling work explores the intersection of autism and literature, focusing on the experiences of autistic individuals and the challenges they face in a world that often misunderstands them. Through personal reflection and critical analysis, it highlights the emotional depth and intellectual richness of the autistic perspective, urging a more inclusive and empathetic understanding of neurodiversity.
Teaching Myself to See by Tito Mukhopadhyay
Call Number: Online Access

ISBN: 9781953035325

Publication Date: 2021-02-11

An introspective and poetic exploration of the author’s experiences as a nonverbal autistic individual, offering a unique perspective on sensory perception and self-awareness. Through vivid descriptions, it provides profound insights into the inner workings of an autistic mind, challenging conventional notions of communication and intelligence.
Spoonface Steinberg by Lee Hall
Call Number: PR 6058.A454 S66

ISBN: 9780413748706

Publication Date: 2000-02-03

A poignant and moving play about Spoonface Steinberg, a young girl with autism, who reflects on her life and experiences with humor, depth, and sensitivity. As she grapples with her diagnosis and her place in the world, the play explores themes of identity, love, and the human spirit, leaving a lasting impression on its audience.
Divergent Mind by Jenara Nerenberg
Call Number: RC 451.4.W6 NER

ISBN: 9780062876799

Publication Date: 2020-03-24

This insightful book explores the unique experiences of women with neurodivergent traits, including autism, ADHD, and other conditions. By blending personal stories, scientific research, and cultural analysis, it highlights how these women often face underdiagnosis and misinterpretation, while celebrating the strengths and perspectives that come with a divergent mind.
The Neurodiversity Reader by Damian Milton (Editor)
Call Number: RC 455.4.B5 NEU

ISBN: 9781912755394

Publication Date: 2020-08-28

This comprehensive collection brings together a diverse range of perspectives on neurodiversity, offering insights from scholars, activists, and individuals within the neurodivergent community. The reader explores key concepts, challenges, and debates surrounding neurodiversity, fostering a deeper understanding of how society can embrace and support neurological differences.
Autism Spectrum Disorders by Jill Boucher
Call Number: RC 553.A88 BOU

ISBN: 9781529744668

Publication Date: 2022-05-30

This comprehensive guide provides an in-depth exploration of autism spectrum disorders, offering insights into their characteristics, diagnosis, and interventions. Drawing on the latest research, it addresses both the challenges and strengths of individuals on the spectrum, providing valuable information for professionals, families, and educators.
The Autistic Experience by Joe James; Marie-Laure Del Vecchio
Call Number: RC 553.A88 JAM

ISBN: 9781399806855

Publication Date: 2023-10-10

An exploration of the diverse experiences of autistic individuals, this work offers a rich perspective on living with autism. Through personal narratives and in-depth analysis, it sheds light on the challenges and strengths associated with the condition, providing a deeper understanding of what it means to be autistic in a neurotypical world.
Unmasking Autism by DeVon Price
Call Number: RC 553.A88 PRI

ISBN: 9780593235232

Publication Date: 2022-04-05

This empowering book explores the concept of "masking" in autism, where individuals hide their true selves to fit societal expectations. It offers a compassionate and practical guide for unmasking, embracing authenticity, and navigating the challenges of living as an autistic person in a neurotypical world, promoting self-acceptance and understanding.
Wired Differently - 30 Neurodivergent People You Should Know by Joe Wells; Tim Stringer (Illustrator)
Call Number: Wellbeing, RC 445.4.B5 WEL

ISBN: 9781787758421

Publication Date: 2022-05-19

This collection of illustrated portraits celebrates the lives of influential neurodivergent figures who have achieved amazing things in recent times. Showcasing these 30 incredible people, the extraordinary stories in this book show that the things they've achieved, created and inspired they did not despite being different but because they are different. From politicians, activists and journalists to YouTubers, DJs and poets, this book highlights a wide range of exciting career paths for neurodivergent readers.
Taking off the Mask by Hannah Louise Belcher
Call Number: Wellbeing ; BF 575.S39 BEL

ISBN: 9781787755895

Publication Date: 2022-09-21

Explores the personal journey of unmasking for individuals on the autism spectrum, shedding light on the emotional and psychological toll of concealing one’s true self. Through candid reflections, it highlights the liberation and challenges that come with embracing authenticity, offering a deeper understanding of autism and self-acceptance.
Supporting Spectacular Girls by Helen Clarke; Rebecca Wood (Foreword by)
Call Number: Wellbeing ; LX 4000 CLA

ISBN: 9781787755482

Publication Date: 2021-10-21

A practical guide focused on supporting girls on the autism spectrum, offering strategies to address their unique challenges and strengths. It provides insights into fostering self-confidence, building social skills, and creating an inclusive environment, empowering both parents and educators to help these girls thrive in everyday life.
May Tomorrow Be Awake by Chris Martin
Call Number: Wellbeing; LX 4000 MAR

ISBN: 9780063020153

Publication Date: 2022-08-09

This poignant memoir explores the author’s personal journey of self-discovery and healing as he navigates life with autism. Through introspective reflections, it sheds light on the challenges, triumphs, and deep emotions of living with a neurodivergent mind, offering a heartfelt narrative about growth, acceptance, and finding peace.
Camouflage by Sarah Bargiela; Sophie Standing (Illustrator)
Call Number: Wellbeing ; RC 553.A88 BAR

ISBN: 9781785925665

Publication Date: 2019-03-21

This poignant graphic novel explores the complexities of autism through the eyes of a young autistic girl. Using vivid illustrations and heartfelt storytelling, it highlights the experience of "camouflaging" — the effort to hide one’s true self to fit societal expectations — and the emotional toll it can take. It’s a powerful exploration of identity, belonging, and self-acceptance.
The #ActuallyAutistic Guide to Advocacy by Jenna Gensic; Jennifer Brunton
Call Number: Wellbeing ; RC 553.A88 BRU

ISBN: 9781787759732

Publication Date: 2022-02-21

This empowering guide provides practical advice and insights for autistic individuals looking to become effective self-advocates. Drawing on lived experiences, it offers strategies for navigating challenges, building confidence, and fostering understanding, making it an essential resource for promoting inclusivity and authentic representation.
Moving forward : reflections on Autism, neurodiversity, brain surgery, and faith by Jacki Edry
Call Number: Wellbeing ; RC 553.A88 EDR

ISBN: 9789655995237

Publication Date: 2021

This inspiring memoir shares the author’s personal journey through the challenges of autism, brain surgery, and her exploration of faith. Reflecting on her experiences, it offers a unique perspective on neurodiversity, resilience, and the transformative power of belief, while navigating the complexities of identity and healing.
The autistic brain : thinking across the spectrum by Temple Grandin
Call Number: Wellbeing ; RC 553.A88 GRA

ISBN: 9781846044496

Publication Date: 2013

A groundbreaking exploration of how the autistic brain processes information, this book provides unique insights from Temple Grandin, one of the most well-known individuals on the autism spectrum. It delves into the diverse ways autistic minds work, offering valuable perspectives on cognition, learning, and behaviour, while highlighting the strengths and challenges associated with neurodiversity.
Autism and Masking by Felicity Sedgewick; Laura Hull; Helen Ellis
Call Number: Wellbeing ; RC 553.A88 SED

ISBN: 9781787755796

Publication Date: 2021-12-21

This compelling work examines the phenomenon of masking in autism, exploring its causes, impacts, and the experiences of those who mask their autistic traits. Through research and personal narratives, it highlights the challenges and consequences of masking, advocating for greater understanding and authenticity.

Articles

"Autism is me": an investigation of how autistic individuals make sense of autism and stigma
Botha, Monique; Dibb, Bridget; Frost, David M.
Disability & society, 2022-03, Vol.37 (3), p.427-453

Explores critical themes related to disability studies, such as societal perceptions, accessibility, inclusion, and policy impacts on the lives of disabled individuals. It examines the interplay between disability and social structures, emphasizing the importance of challenging stereotypes and fostering equity. The specific focus of the article may address an intersectional perspective, policy analysis, or lived experiences of disability in a particular context.
"Autism research is in crisis": A mixed method study of researcher's constructions of autistic people and autism research
Botha, Monique; Cage, Eilidh
Frontiers in psychology, 2022-11, Vol.13, p.1050897-1050897

While not all autism research is ableism, autism researchers can be ableist, including by talking about autistic people in sub-human terms (dehumanization), treating autistic people like objects (objectification), and making othering statements which set autistic people apart from non-autistic people, below in status (stigmatization). This mixed-method study aimed to investigate how autism researchers construct autistic people and autism research, and to investigate whether including autistic people more in research relates to lower ableism in narratives about autistic people.
Autism and Employment: A Review of the “New Frontier” of Diversity Research
Ezerins, Maira E.; Simon, Lauren S.; Vogus, Timothy J.; Gabriel, Allison S.; Calderwood, Charles; Rosen, Christopher C.
Journal of Management, 2024-03, Vol.50 (3), p.1102-1144

Organizations are demonstrating a burgeoning interest in hiring neurodivergent employees, prompting a parallel expansion of research on autism and employment. In this review, we evaluate, critique, and integrate diffuse research and theory on autism and employment across the domains of disability studies, autism, industrial relations, management, and rehabilitation. In doing so, we illustrate how incorporating the experiences of individuals on the autism spectrum can benefit management theory.
The Neurochemistry of Autism
Marotta, Rosa; Risoleo, Maria C; Messina, Giovanni; Parisi, Lucia; Carotenuto, Marco; Vetri, Luigi; Roccella, Michele
Brain sciences, 2020-03, Vol.10 (3), p.163

Examines the biochemical underpinnings of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), focusing on how variations in brain chemistry contribute to its behavioural and cognitive characteristics. It likely explores key neurotransmitters, such as dopamine, serotonin, and glutamate, and their roles in neural signalling and brain development. The article provides insights into how neurochemical imbalances influence the symptoms of autism and discusses potential implications for therapeutic approaches and future research in this area.
Theorising Autism
Milton, Damian EM; Green, Jonathan
Autism : the international journal of research and practice, 2024-04, Vol.28 (4), p.795-797

Explores conceptual frameworks for understanding autism, emphasizing the need to move beyond traditional medical models. The authors critique deficit-based perspectives and advocate for a more nuanced view that incorporates autistic individuals' lived experiences and neurodiversity principles. The article examines how theories about autism shape societal attitudes, policies, and support systems, calling for approaches that prioritize inclusion, acceptance, and empowerment of autistic individuals.
Trains and Outer Space—The Unique Worlds Within Autism
Moreno-De-Luca, Daniel
JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association, 2020-10, Vol.324 (16), p.1591-1592

Explores the intense and specialized interests often associated with individuals on the autism spectrum. Using trains and outer space as examples, the article delves into how these focused passions provide not only a source of joy and engagement but also a lens for understanding the unique cognitive and emotional worlds of autistic individuals. It highlights the role of these interests in personal development, social interaction, and self-expression, offering insights into how they enrich the lives of those with autism.
‘Autistic person’ or ‘person with autism’? Person-first language preference in Dutch adults with autism and parents
Buijsman, Riley; Begeer, Sander; Scheeren, Anke M
Autism : the international journal of research and practice, 2023-04, Vol.27 (3), p.788-795

Examines the language preferences of Dutch adults with autism and their parents when referring to autism. It explores the debate between person-first language (e.g., "person with autism") and identity-first language (e.g., "autistic person"), focusing on the cultural and personal implications of each choice.
“I’m Proud to be a Little Bit Different”: The Effects of Autistic Individuals’ Perceptions of Autism and Autism Social Identity on Their Collective Self-esteem
Cooper, Rosalind ; Cooper, Kate ; Russell, Ailsa J. ; Smith, Laura G. E.
Journal of autism and developmental disorders, 2021-02, Vol.51 (2), p.704-714

Explores how autistic individuals view their identity and how these perceptions influence their self-esteem. It examines the role of autism social identity—how individuals relate to the autism community—and its impact on collective pride and well-being. The study likely highlights the importance of positive self-perception and community connection in fostering resilience and self-acceptance among autistic individuals.