Use this guide to discover useful resources for conducting research in your subject area.
The University of Sussex's Library Search is a good starting point, as it spans all subjects and searches the university's collections and subscriptions. However, to be more comprehensive in your research, you’ll need to use other resources, databases and collections.
The best place to search will depend on what types of sources you’re looking for, your research topic, and where you are in your research process.
The resources listed on this guide are useful for Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy. This page lists some of the most used research databases in these fields.
The other pages of this guide list even more resources which are useful for mathematics, physics and astronomy research, including key journals and more specialist research tools.
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of academic journal articles, books and conference proceedings covering all subjects, dating back to 1900. Web of Science consists of multiple different databases including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Features: citation analysis, researcher profiles, journal metrics, search alerts.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database, which provides access to academic journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents from 1788–present.
Advanced Features: citation analysis, author profiles, journal metrics; data export and analysis, search alerts.
Full text and abstracts from over 2,500 journals in all fields of science and social sciences such as economics, management and business.