Legacy Collection Guide

The documents collection is the largest area of Legacy (with over 20,000 individual items) to help with access and retrieval we have re-catalogued each document with one of the following themes:

• War
• Social Movements
• Social Welfare
• Trade Unions
• Popular and Counter Cultures
• Gender Studies and Feminism
• Political Movements and Parties

Scroll down the boxes below for an overview of what each theme covers. Items can be requested and viewed in our Legacy Collection Room (see navigation on the left).

All items from this theme can be searched via Library Search or are browsable via Library Search Collections.

This is a rich collection of documents and ephemera, many with detailed images and photographs, relating to World War One and Two alongside other conflict-related themes such as the arms trade and peacekeeping.

There are 943 items available with the earliest being 1913 and the latest 1980. Areas of interest within War include health, education, gender, religious attitudes, the press, trade, politics and arms.

Materials are in the format of information booklets and guidance, essays, periodicals and reports. Publishers range from Governenment departments such as the Ministry of Defence to smaller agencies such as the Quaker Group or the Friends Peace Committee.

All items from this theme can be searched via Library Search or are browsable via Library Search Collections.

This collection relates to UK based social movements from the late 19th to late 20th centuries with a focus on the mid 20th century.

There are 800 items in total, with the earliest being 1884 and the latest 1991.

Areas of interest include religion, student, workers, pacifist, ethical and regional movements. Publishers range from the Ramblers Association to the Campaign for the Limitation of the Secret Police Powers.

Materials are in the format of guides, essays, newlsetters and information booklets.

All items from this theme can be searched via Library Search or are browsable via Library Search Collections.

There are 1717 items in total, with the earliest being 1946 and the latest 1991 with a focus on the mid 20th century.

This collection relates to an all encompassing range of topics including education, health, housing, public services and town planning.

Materials are mostly reports, reviews and guides from advisory committees, HMSO, community organisations and local councils. Non Governmental organisations represented include Gingerbread, Oxfam and Shelter.

All items from this theme can be searched via Library Search or are browsable via Library Search Collections.

This collection of 1342 items relates to all aspects of UK based trade unions and labour history from the late 19th to late 20th centuries. The earliest item is from 1873 and the latest 1991.

Materials are in the form of monographs, reports, periodicals, handbooks and information guides.

Unions represented in the collection span many areas of work including education (National Union of Teachers), government (National and Local Government Officers Association), Mineworkers (National Union of Mineworkers) alongside smaller unions such as the National Society of Pottery Workers.

All items from this theme can be searched via Library Search or are browsable via Library Search Collections.

This collection of 402 items documents cultural life across the C19 and C20th centuries.

The earliest item is 1947 and the latest 1983.

Materials are mostly in the form of periodicals, but also include cartoons, reports and guides. Heavily featured publications include the Brighton Voice and Attila magazine which were underground newspapers produced in Brighton during the 1970s and 80s.

All items from this theme can be searched via Library Search or are browsable via Library Search Collections.

This collection of 218 items produced by organisations relating to UK based gender studies and the feminist movement.

The earliest item is from 1900 and the latest from 1986.

Our largest collection of over 10000 items relating to UK political parties and elections through the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection is particularly strong in electioneering literature such as candidates promotional materials from elections across the 20th century.

The earliest item is from 1884 and the latest from 1997.

This collection of 224 items documents life in the UK following the Second World War. All items from this theme can be searched via Library Search or are browsable via Library Search Collections.